how many drones - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
the cabbage's Avatar
the cabbage's Flag is: Scotland
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,717
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reasnd View Post
- I've always wondered about this. On the weekend I played against Tau. My warboss was in hand to hand with a Shas'ui with two drones. He took two wounds and removed both drones. My Warboss only took one wound and as a result the Shas'ui was forces to retreat. Now the codex says that srones are counted for shooting moral checks having taken 25% casualties. However there is nothing specifically mentioning they are counted when determining if a units is below 50% and ineligable to regroup. I would expect that the suit could regroup and I read the rules this way, am I right. Otherwise I really can't see the point of taking two drones! as Jaws said.
Page 31 of codex: Tau Empire.

Quote:
Drones are counted for determining if it is below 50% for victory point purposes
So my reading is that if I get the victory points for putting you below 50% then that same less than 50% stops you from regrouping.

I keep having nightmares with broadsides using these bloody things. I field them as individuals with two shield drones. My inability to pass 8 up leadership roles means that My uninjured broadsides keep wandering off upset that the floating armour plates get shot. I mean how well can you get to know a floating armoured frisbee?
the cabbage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 07:32 AM
Senior Member
 
jaws900's Avatar
jaws900's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 1
Default

my main rerasonign is that shotting is done on the majoraty so if you have 2 drone per suit then your majoraty Toughness is now 3 making your suits worse. This i why i suggest Shield drones as there armour and Toughness become what they are equiped to.

P.S. My bad with posting the pointscosts...sorry

"Never take life seriously. Nobody gets out alive anyway."

People i have turned into Chaos Spawn
Marneus Calgar
Pedro Kantor
Terminator Chaplin
Terminator Apothecary
jaws900 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 11:55 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

An IC with Drones reverts back to an IC when they die so may regroup if alone. A squad member would not be able to Regroup.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
 
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-16-10, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
reasnd's Avatar
reasnd's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 246
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Drones are counted for determining if it is below 50% for victory point purposes
Yes page 31. that's what I'm looking at, it's the ... for victory point purposes. It doesn't say for regrouping purposes. So bad luck at the end of the game when you are talling up the victory points, but the way I read it is that you won't have the problem regrouping.
Oh, and Jaws thanks for the clarification. I didn't pick that one up as I was still thinking about the game last weekend.
reasnd is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome