question about dedicated transport - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-07-10, 03:42 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
dewn_moutain's Avatar
dewn_moutain's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: milwaukee wi
Posts: 47
Reputation: 1
question about dedicated transport

so i have a space marine army. and i am looking to add in some trans for them. but as i was reading it, i had some theories that i want to post and see if its possible to do.

theory 1) it is possible to purchase 2 razorbacks for a 10man squad who has broken into combat squads.

theory 2) if you really wanted to, you could purchase a rhino/razorback and a drop pod and at deployment, decide which trans would your squad ride in. the rules only state that a dedicated transport can only be used by the chosen squad, BUT they dont have to be in it at the start of the game. Once the game starts, it can be used by anyone. So aside from the obvious points cost, i think it would be a tactical gain, since the enemy wont know if your troops are in the rhino/razor or falling from the sky.

yes, i know theory 2 is total cheese of the rules and takes the fun out of the game, but ive gone up against guys who have done alot worse just so they can "get the win". so i thought a little payback to them was in order.
dewn_moutain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-07-10, 04:05 PM
Senior Member
 
lokis222's Avatar
lokis222's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: fredericton, nb
Posts: 2,523
Reputation: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dewn_moutain View Post
so i have a space marine army. and i am looking to add in some trans for them. but as i was reading it, i had some theories that i want to post and see if its possible to do.

theory 1) it is possible to purchase 2 razorbacks for a 10man squad who has broken into combat squads.

theory 2) if you really wanted to, you could purchase a rhino/razorback and a drop pod and at deployment, decide which trans would your squad ride in. the rules only state that a dedicated transport can only be used by the chosen squad, BUT they dont have to be in it at the start of the game. Once the game starts, it can be used by anyone. So aside from the obvious points cost, i think it would be a tactical gain, since the enemy wont know if your troops are in the rhino/razor or falling from the sky.

yes, i know theory 2 is total cheese of the rules and takes the fun out of the game, but ive gone up against guys who have done alot worse just so they can "get the win". so i thought a little payback to them was in order.

The tac squad that breaks down into two combat squads is one unit until deployment begins. When purchasing the unit, under the Dedicated Transports section, it says that A, B, or C may be chosen. So, I would say that more than one per unit may not be taken.

lokis222 is offline  
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-07-10, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
ItsPug's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Enniskillen, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,115
Reputation: 4
Default

Nope, sorry, although you can pick a landraider as a heavy choice and a drop pod for the dedicated transport to do it - its just very expensive.

Overall Tournament Game Results W:78 D:22 L:32
ItsPug is offline  
 
post #4 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-07-10, 09:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Supersonic Banana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 390
Reputation: 1
Default

What ive always wondered is if you get a dedicated transport for a unit can you deploy one and keep the other in reserve?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella Cadente View Post
I'd rather take my chances at the end of Kharn the betrayers axe, while Typhus sneezes on me Ahriman pokes me with tentacles and Lucius rapes my leg (Abby can sit in the corner crying) than with the imperium.

Supersonic Banana is offline  
post #5 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-07-10, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy's Avatar
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 284
Reputation: 1
Default

Theory 1) False b/c you choose 1 of the # of transports that are available to the unit and then right before the game starts you choose if you want the said unit to break into combat squads or not.
Theory 2) False b/c a unit can ONLY have one dedicated transport.
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy is offline  
post #6 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-07-10, 10:23 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
dewn_moutain's Avatar
dewn_moutain's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: milwaukee wi
Posts: 47
Reputation: 1
Default

where does it say i can ONLY have one transport. its not listed in the bible.

and the SM codex states that the unit may choose razorback or rhino, if the unit numbers 10 models, it may choose drop pod. so sure, its a rhino or razorback, but it doesnt say, like it did in the old codex's, " if squad numbers 6 or less, it may choose razorback. if squad numbers 7 to 10 it may take rhino". so its still possible to take a razorback for the squad. Nowhere does it say that if you have more than the max allowed can you NOT buy the transport in the new codex.
dewn_moutain is offline  
post #7 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-07-10, 10:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Unforgiven302's Avatar
Unforgiven302's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Delaware
Posts: 2,979
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dewn_moutain View Post
where does it say i can ONLY have one transport. its not listed in the bible.

Check the entry for dedicated transports in a unit that can have them: Like regular marines on page 134. "May select A rhino or A razorback." It is singular. Only one transport, (of any type) for a single unit no matter the units size.

and the SM codex states that the unit may choose razorback or rhino, if the unit numbers 10 models, it may choose drop pod. so sure, its a rhino or razorback, but it doesnt say, like it did in the old codex's, " if squad numbers 6 or less, it may choose razorback. if squad numbers 7 to 10 it may take rhino". so its still possible to take a razorback for the squad. Nowhere does it say that if you have more than the max allowed can you NOT buy the transport in the new codex.

Yes, you can take a razorback for a unit of 10 marines, they just cannot embark into it until they number 6 or less models.
Hope that helps.
Unforgiven302 is offline  
post #8 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-07-10, 11:00 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
dewn_moutain's Avatar
dewn_moutain's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: milwaukee wi
Posts: 47
Reputation: 1
Default

unforgiven! you are da man!!!! sweet!
dewn_moutain is offline  
post #9 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-08-10, 10:17 PM
Senior Member
 
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy's Avatar
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 284
Reputation: 1
Default

You were probably reading it a RAW instead of taking into consideration the RAI.
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy is offline  
post #10 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 03:53 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
dewn_moutain's Avatar
dewn_moutain's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: milwaukee wi
Posts: 47
Reputation: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosSpaceMarineGuy View Post
You were probably reading it a RAW instead of taking into consideration the RAI.
At the expense of sounding like "THAT GUY", if GW wanted things to be "as intended", they should've written them out, and made them RAW.

I am not a rules lawyer, far from it. I am all about the fun of the game. I just get giddy at the idea of seeing my opponent shooting at a rhino that has nothing in it and watch his face go from confusion to astonishment as i drop a drop pod right next to the unit that shot up the empty rhino. (i spent 4 years in the Army, in a unit that was all about misdirection and shock and awe tactics. When we would get together to play some 40K, we would push the rules to the limit. When you're in the military, you get very good at memorizing regulations and using them to your advantage when its needed. It rubbed off into other areas of my life.)
dewn_moutain is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome