question about dedicated transport - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 03:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Deathscythe4722's Avatar
Deathscythe4722's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 594
Reputation: 1
Default

Sorry, but the whole fake-out with an empty Rhino doesn't work.

BrB:
page 93:
Quote:
always make clear to your opponent which squads are embarked in which transport vehicle
page 94
Quote:
the player must specify if any transport vehicle in reserves is carrying any of the infantry units and/or independant characters in reserve.

Last edited by Deathscythe4722; 08-09-10 at 03:48 AM.
Deathscythe4722 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 04:43 AM
Senior Member
 
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy's Avatar
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 284
Reputation: 1
Default

Before I say this, I don't want this to start as an argument since the original post was is not about revealing what is in transports.
Now, Deathscythe4722, if you read the whole section then the first quote falls under the "A Note on Secrecy" section. That whole is section is up to the discretion of the players involved in the game to agree whether or not if they want to reveal the transports occupants.
Your second quote is right on the money.
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy is offline  
post #13 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
forkbanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 468
Reputation: 1
Default

The only thing to be agreed upon by the players in A Note on Secrecy is when you reveal force rosters.

"To keep things fair, you should always allow your opponent to read your force roster after a game. In the same spirirt, always make clear to your opponent which squads are embarked in which transport vehicles. However, before starting to deploy their armies, it is a good idea for players to agree whether or not they can read the opponent's force roster before and during the game."

Transport contents are always known.
forkbanger is offline  
 
post #14 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Yep, the transport contents is in the same spirit (ie, to be fair) but is not an 'after the game' type event. Oh, and I'm going to want to see your roster pregame anyways, just seen too many illegal or improperly pointed lists over the years to trust your math or you list building skills. In other words, I'm only going to agree that we can read them before and during the game.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
post #15 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 12:30 PM
Member
 
cybernomad's Avatar
cybernomad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 38
Reputation: 1
Default

For #1, if you really want to achieve that, make a dev squad or 2 as your Heavy choice and give them a dedicated transport as a razorback. The trick comes with deployment.

When you deploy your tac marines, combat squad them and load one 5 man into their dedicated transport.
When you deploy your dev squad, make sure they are NOT in their own transport.

Now deploy the other combat squad NEXT to the dev's razorback.

On your first turn, load the combat squad into the dev's razorback.

The reason you can't deploy them in the dev's razorback is due to the fact that only the squad that purchased it can deploy in it before the game begins. But once the game has begun, anyone can use the transport.


Hope this helps.
cybernomad is offline  
post #16 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Belthazor Aurellius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 263
Reputation: 2
Default

Cybernomad: How? The codex prohibits anyone but the unit purchasing it to ride.
Belthazor Aurellius is offline  
post #17 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 05:37 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Belthazor Aurellius View Post
Cybernomad: How? The codex prohibits anyone but the unit purchasing it to ride.
The only codex that still does that is Daemon Hunters. What codex are you looking at?

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
post #18 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 06:49 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
dewn_moutain's Avatar
dewn_moutain's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: milwaukee wi
Posts: 47
Reputation: 1
Default

hmmmm looks like i have some more reading to do.
cybernomad, yeah i figured out that trick. its super easy to do. and i could do it with all my squads, not just the dev sqds.
and to deathscythe, yes i have to specify, it just doesnt say how. i can write it down and not reveal it.

Not trying to start a flame war or anything, just defending my point of view. i do plan on reading the mentioned pages again tonight after work...
dewn_moutain is offline  
post #19 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Deathscythe4722's Avatar
Deathscythe4722's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 594
Reputation: 1
Default

Haha no.

Read it again. In fact, let me quote it again, because i seem to be turning into some kind of BrB televangelist.

BrB, page 93:
Quote:
always make clear to your opponent which squads are embarked in which transport vehicle
Note that if you write it down and dont reveal it, you're hardly making it clear. As noted by Forkbanger, the only thing that is variable is when you reveal your force roster. Everything else is revealed before the game starts.

Transport contents are always known.
Deathscythe4722 is offline  
post #20 of 37 (permalink) Old 08-09-10, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy's Avatar
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 284
Reputation: 1
Default

@ forkbanger- I have no disagreement with the revealing roster lists after game. Keep in mind that when something says "in the same spirit" then you need to look at the previous sentence(s) and if you do then you will see the "you should" and once again it does not mean you have to or else it would say "you must."

Writing it down before the game on your roster which squad goes where is perfectly fine. If it turns out that the player went against what he wrote down, then that player loses.

Last edited by ChaosSpaceMarineGuy; 08-09-10 at 10:04 PM.
ChaosSpaceMarineGuy is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome