Multi-Wound and sharing the load?
I noticed some other people discussing this in another forum and it got me thinking what are the specific rules for multi-wound models and sharing the load?
Now as we all know when there is a multi wound model in a unit you shouldn't be able to say pass a wound on him every once in a while to stop you from losing one wound models in a squad. For example, some bolters fire and hit a squad of kroot and their groups shaper....
Now a shaper has three wounds, say the squad were to suffer two wounds from bolter fire, now for a player the best thing they could do is pass two wounds on the shaper leaving him with one wound and the normal kroot unharmed.... this means more models in the kroot squad are left and thus some tactical advantage. According to what most people think, that can't be done...... but with some further research I tried to work out.... 'why not?' this is what I found.......
If you look in the main rulebook at the rule on page 27; It details units that consist of several multiple-wound models. These include Ork nobs, Tyranid warriors, etc. Basically, any unit that has 2 or more models that each have 2 or more wounds has to abide by the rules that wounds can't be shared.
So that Kroot unit consisting of one model (the shaper) that has 2 or more wounds does not have to follow those rules. It is important to note that if you were to then attach a master shaper, then suddenly that unit does have to abide by those rules. So if one did join your group then don't take the first wound on your shaper if you have a master shaper attached to the unit, as then the shaper does have to take the rest of the wounds until he is dead!
Speaking with several players I asked their views..... and I found an article from someone who phoned and visited the GW's to find out the answer and explained that it definitely does not apply to units that have a single, multiple wound model. Otherwise, strange things could happen.
So, for example, say a space marine player has a death company unit led by a chaplain. If something freaky happens where the chaplain is the only model in line of sight (freaky as you wouldn't risk him but it may happen), he has to take the wound. But that does not mean he should take every other wound after that until he is dead, that would be ridiculous, because he could be in a different place by then or being fired at from a completely different angle.....
While it doesn't sound like much it does actually change the way some units can be played, I mean look at those kroot, say that was a unit of 9 kroot carnivores and their one shaper, taking those two wounds on the shaper would save you two kroot, leaving you with a full unit and plenty of bulk left for CC, I mean if you let the two kroot die you'd be down 6 CC attacks, whereas if the shaper takes the hits, you're getting all your attacks and the shaper being on one wound doesn't make a difference as he shouldn't be heavily equipped and if he's going to be killed, he would be killed by extreme overkill anyway as he'll be the last one there as per the rules.
Although I prefer the rules that it just can't be done, it does make sense that you actually can, but I prefer the normal way we play, the way we look at it and always have is majority rules. this also applies for squads with different saves, if 9 of the models have one wound or a saving throw of 4+ and there is a leader with 3 wounds and a saving throw of 2+, the leader can only be targetted if he/she is the only model in range or line of sight, otherwise, this model will be the last to be removed, so long as those with one wound and 3+ saves are still in the majority. That way it's simple, easier and fairer.
I'm not sure that this is all 100% correct but it's a thought. :D