Stupid Question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-20-10, 12:44 AM Thread Starter
Nectar of the Gods!
 
shampawnya's Avatar
shampawnya's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lloydminster, SK CANADA
Posts: 58
Reputation: 1
Icon Stupid Question

Forgive the stupidity of this question, but, believe it or not it came up in a recent match...

Cover Saves are only used for shooting attacks, not in close combat...right?

The scenario that brought this up was a unit was assaulting another unit with an independent character attached to it... the assaulter chose to attack the IC and and assaultee claimed that he now gets a cover save because he has the rest of his unit standing in the way.

Also is a KFF considered a valid save in close combat?

Thanks for the help guys...
shampawnya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-20-10, 12:59 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Cover saves cannot be used in close combat. BRB pg 39, rt column, 4th paragraph.

A KFF grants a cover save.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-20-10, 01:07 AM Thread Starter
Nectar of the Gods!
 
shampawnya's Avatar
shampawnya's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lloydminster, SK CANADA
Posts: 58
Reputation: 1
Default

Thank you... all I needed.
shampawnya is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-20-10, 03:22 AM
Member
NeroRat's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 62
Reputation: 1
Default

I would just like to add that for the asaulter to target the IC, he would need to have models in base contact with it. From your description it doesn't sound like he was if the rest of the unit was in the way...

Just a thought... I could be wrong.
NeroRat is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-20-10, 03:29 AM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

And I thought I should add ... there is no such thing as a stupid question. Only stupid people, and apparently it IS illegal to kill them. What a shame. And yes you were correct.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-20-10, 03:33 AM
Senior Member
 
KhainiteAssassin's Avatar
KhainiteAssassin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,083
Reputation: 1
Default

no cover saves in CC, the only thing cover in CC does is determines who strikes first, unless you have assault nades (frag)

also you need to be in base contact to attack an IC in a squad

WIPS: CHECK THEM OUT!
Space wolves - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=54246
Warriors of chaos - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=60813
Dark Eldar - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=75375
DE FLUFF - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=86956
My armies.


the key to every good DE army makeup. Always have a backup plan, try to take everything in multiples, and use everything you can to your advantage, being a sneaky bastard within the rules, as it were.
KhainiteAssassin is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-20-10, 04:20 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

I have been accused of having Assault nads before but was acquitted.

Nevertheless the stigma still lingers....



OH...you meant Grenades....nevermind...

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-20-10, 04:22 AM
Senior Member
 
KhainiteAssassin's Avatar
KhainiteAssassin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,083
Reputation: 1
Default

yes I meant greNADES not Nads ROFL

WIPS: CHECK THEM OUT!
Space wolves - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=54246
Warriors of chaos - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=60813
Dark Eldar - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=75375
DE FLUFF - https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=86956
My armies.


the key to every good DE army makeup. Always have a backup plan, try to take everything in multiples, and use everything you can to your advantage, being a sneaky bastard within the rules, as it were.
KhainiteAssassin is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome