Tervigon spawning - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 12:46 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
666JasonDark666's Avatar
666JasonDark666's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Commorragh
Posts: 131
Reputation: 1
Tervigon spawning

Sry this maybe a stupid question but I dont get the fact if Termagants spawned from Tervigons cost points.How dose this work ?

plz good explanation with quotes from the codex


In the end there is only Chaos...
Tyranids: Ragnarök Hivefleet Space Marines: Salamanders Chapter Dark Eldar: Blood Dragon Kabal
Chaos Daemons: Seed Of Destruction
666JasonDark666 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Flame80010's Avatar
Flame80010's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 496
Reputation: 1
Default

they dont cost points (well tehcnicly they do because the power costs points)

they are Spawned units that are created in-game so are outside of normal FoC and Point total rules
Flame80010 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 01:46 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

The points for the gaunts are basically part of the tervigon's cost- the ability to produce gaunts makes the tervigon better and so will have meant an increase in points over what its basic stats would indicate (compare the tervigon to a mawloc stats wise... the tervigon really doesnt look very good by comparison yet they are similar points).

The spawned unit itself doesnt cost anything and isnt part of the FoC but it is still a troops unit (so can claim objectives) and still gives away a KP in anhilation games (during which its often a good idea not to spawn any gaunts at all- you dont have to do it).

Tim/Steve is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 02:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
666JasonDark666's Avatar
666JasonDark666's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Commorragh
Posts: 131
Reputation: 1
Default

ok but how many gants can the tervigon spawn, I mean after you trow your 3d6 and spawn your termagants, can you do that again ?


In the end there is only Chaos...
Tyranids: Ragnarök Hivefleet Space Marines: Salamanders Chapter Dark Eldar: Blood Dragon Kabal
Chaos Daemons: Seed Of Destruction
666JasonDark666 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 666JasonDark666 View Post
ok but how many gants can the tervigon spawn, I mean after you trow your 3d6 and spawn your termagants, can you do that again ?
Read the codex.

Aramoro
Aramoro is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 02:39 PM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

Specifically pg 52 of the 'Dex.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 02:50 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
666JasonDark666's Avatar
666JasonDark666's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Commorragh
Posts: 131
Reputation: 1
Default

the codex says that if I get a duble the tervigon will still generate the termagants I rolled but I can' t generate anymore termagants for the rest of the match
Duble ? Dose that mean for ex. I get 2 Sixes and I can' t generate anymore? If yes dose that mean that if I don' t get a duble I can continue to generate


In the end there is only Chaos...
Tyranids: Ragnarök Hivefleet Space Marines: Salamanders Chapter Dark Eldar: Blood Dragon Kabal
Chaos Daemons: Seed Of Destruction
666JasonDark666 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 03:02 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Yes and yes.

The ability is balanced out by the very high probability of rolling a double. Plus the way the Tervigon explodes and kills said Gaunts when killed is a balancing downside.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
666JasonDark666's Avatar
666JasonDark666's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Commorragh
Posts: 131
Reputation: 1
Default

Awesome thx


In the end there is only Chaos...
Tyranids: Ragnarök Hivefleet Space Marines: Salamanders Chapter Dark Eldar: Blood Dragon Kabal
Chaos Daemons: Seed Of Destruction
666JasonDark666 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome