Tyranid Ressurection- Still Possible? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 04:50 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
SHarrington's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 436
Reputation: 1
Tyranid Ressurection- Still Possible?

This actually happened tonight:

Hive Tyrant used Leach Essence on an enemy squad and rolled double 1's. The Perils of the warp took his last wound away killing him. The Leach Essence still went off and killed a marine.

Does the Hive Tyrant get back up and dust himself off, or is there a rule somewhere that says "dead is dead"?





I remember two editions ago, Old One Eye could come back from the dead, and currently Necrons and the SoB Special Character can, back how about a Tyrant?
SHarrington is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 05:23 AM
Senior Member
 
lokis222's Avatar
lokis222's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: fredericton, nb
Posts: 2,523
Reputation: 7
Default

Those would be special rules.
I think that Remove Casualties on page 24 applies and Multiple -Wound Models page 26. It is referenced in the Assault removing casualties

On page 26, it says,"Once the model has lost all of its Wounds, it is removed as a casualty."
On page 24, it says,"....removed from the table as a casualty." In this case it refers to single wound models, but the language is similar enough and this is the explanation for removing casualties.

As of the peril of the warps double 1 rule, the psychic ability goes off, but due to 26, there is no longer a model to receive the wounds because it has been removed.


Last edited by lokis222; 07-12-10 at 05:26 AM.
lokis222 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Loki is right, The Perils will kill you before you resolve the Leach Essence. Once you're dead you're dead. Theres a good argument for the Leach Essence itself to fizzle.

Aramoro
Aramoro is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
lokis222's Avatar
lokis222's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: fredericton, nb
Posts: 2,523
Reputation: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aramoro View Post
Loki is right, The Perils will kill you before you resolve the Leach Essence. Once you're dead you're dead. Theres a good argument for the Leach Essence itself to fizzle.

Aramoro
Not sure I agree. Check page 50 Perils and page 62 Leech Essence. I don't really see any way to justify a fizzle rules wise.

lokis222 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
forkbanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 468
Reputation: 1
Default

I'd say the Tyrant dies due to Perils, but Leech Essence still goes off.

Leech Essence might inflict some wounds, but won't restore any wounds to the dead Tyrant.
forkbanger is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Flame80010's Avatar
Flame80010's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 496
Reputation: 1
Default

teh hive tyrants face ker-splodes as be gegins to leach the minds of these people

their minds go ker-splode as well and they disolve into a puddle of goo and so does your tyrants face

thats teh just of it
Flame80010 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 12:51 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

I dont really know how this one should be played- the rules dont really support either. But there really are only 2 options.

1- The perils and the power happen simaltaneously, the tyrant takes a wound but gets 1 back at the same time... he's still alive.

2- The perils happens before the power happens, the tyrant dies and so the power can no longer happen: dead models cannot use psychic powers. This would pretty much be the psychic equivalent of a plasma cannon overheating...
Fluff wise the tyrant would try the power and get something of an overload that since he's already wounded he wouldn't have the strength to control. He would die and the raw psychic power would be undirected... causing some serious issues to all those close by the doomed tyrant.

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 01:17 PM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

This is how I would play it. The power goes off because according to the BRB pg 50 it says the power still works even of the psyker is killed. So it would force the marines to take their test. The Tyrant had to be removed as it had no wounds left and was therefore ineligible to gain any wounds back from the LE.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
forkbanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 468
Reputation: 1
Default

The Peril of the Warp rules specifically allow a roll to both kill a psyker and cast the power.

You make your Leadership test to use your power, and then resolve it.
The Tyrant dies at the first stage, the Leadership roll.
The power then resolves, but has no caster to give wounds back to.
forkbanger is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-12-10, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
lokis222's Avatar
lokis222's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: fredericton, nb
Posts: 2,523
Reputation: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
I dont really know how this one should be played- the rules dont really support either. But there really are only 2 options.

1- The perils and the power happen simaltaneously, the tyrant takes a wound but gets 1 back at the same time... he's still alive.

2- The perils happens before the power happens, the tyrant dies and so the power can no longer happen: dead models cannot use psychic powers. This would pretty much be the psychic equivalent of a plasma cannon overheating...
Fluff wise the tyrant would try the power and get something of an overload that since he's already wounded he wouldn't have the strength to control. He would die and the raw psychic power would be undirected... causing some serious issues to all those close by the doomed tyrant.
The rules do support it.

]Page 50 of the rule book: A psyker who rolls double 1 will still use his power, even if he is wounded or killed as a result.

Multiple-Wound Models page 26: Once the model has lost all of its Wounds, it is removed as a casualty.

Remove Casualties on page 24:....removed from the table as a casualty.

Basically, the warp kills the psyker, the power goes off after the model is removed from the table, it effects the unit hit, and the final part of the power does not occur as there is no longer a model on the table to receive the extra health.

lokis222 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome