When you hit yourself... - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-10, 12:06 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
AAAAAAAAARRRGGHH's Avatar
AAAAAAAAARRRGGHH's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denmark, the capital of Ikea
Posts: 1,359
Reputation: 8
Default When you hit yourself...

This came up in the last game I've played and since we didn't have a rulebook ready (and neither do I have atm) we couldn't look it up, but anyways:

My opponents Librarian fires Vortex of Doom from his transports firepoint on one of my units. He passes, then proceeds to scatter all the way back on his own transport, resulting in blowing it sky high. His now disembarked unit does not get pinned (nor loses any models) so no problem there. He then asks if he can continue shooting at my still unharmed unit.

Can he still do that? My guess would be that he has already declared what part of the unit that wishes to fire (since only 1 could) so he'd lost his chance, but I am not sure.
So I let him fire anyway (which, of course took a heavy toll on me. Kinda lame.) seeing as we are pretty casual. But hey, I'd still like to know what would happen when shit like this comes up.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jezlad View Post
So you're a wanker?
Who cares? Anyone that says they don't wank is a lying twat. Wank hard, wank often.
AAAAAAAAARRRGGHH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-10, 12:14 AM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

I would say only one other model could fire because all shooting from the unit happens at the same time. When the libby fired off the destucto beam and fragged his own rhino there was still one firing port open to another model.
Just my thoughts on it though.

Edit .... 400 posts ... they go so fast. YEAH.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-10, 12:14 AM
Senior Member
 
fynn's Avatar
fynn's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Posts: 2,021
Reputation: 1
Default

as far as i know, he cant, as at the start of his shooting phase, only one modle could see and shoot from the transport, and just becourse he nuked his own transport dosent mean the rest of the unit can now sunddenly shoot, as that units shooting is now over.

but then i could be wrong

fynn is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-10, 12:19 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
AAAAAAAAARRRGGHH's Avatar
AAAAAAAAARRRGGHH's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denmark, the capital of Ikea
Posts: 1,359
Reputation: 8
Default

So it seems I was right. Hell, it didn't make much of a difference so I regret nothing.
Still good to know. And cool with the fast replies.

Edit - Actually, it was a razorback. I'm unsure of it's amount of firepoints although it makes little difference. But it was pretty epic.
But the best part was probably when his 5 scout bikers charged 3 Horrors of Tzeentch, killed 1, then lost 1 himself on my 2 return attacks. God that was incredibly amusing!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jezlad View Post
So you're a wanker?
Who cares? Anyone that says they don't wank is a lying twat. Wank hard, wank often.

Last edited by AAAAAAAAARRRGGHH; 06-26-10 at 12:23 AM.
AAAAAAAAARRRGGHH is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-10, 12:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Bloodcuddler of Khorne's Avatar
Bloodcuddler of Khorne's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 388
Reputation: 1
Default

I love it when that happens. I once had 3 Flamers of Tzeentch kill whatever the generic Space Marine HQ is (Is it a brother-captain or something?) in close combat.
Bloodcuddler of Khorne is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-26-10, 01:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Unforgiven302's Avatar
Unforgiven302's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Delaware
Posts: 2,979
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fynn View Post
only one modle could see and shoot from the transport,
If it was a rhino then 2 models may fire out of the firepoint.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AAAAAAAAARRRGGHH View Post

Edit - Actually, it was a razorback. I'm unsure of it's amount of firepoints although it makes little difference. But it was pretty epic.
Razorback has 0 firepoints so he should not have fired from the transport to begin with.
Unforgiven302 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome