Might of Heroes - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-29-08, 01:06 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 152
Default Might of Heroes

So this may be a simple question but I was just wondering about the Might of Heroes Psychic power of the Space Marines' Librarians. It says they or any unit in their squad gains +D3 Attacks, now how is the D3 decided? do I roll a D6 and then divide by 2 and round up or down? I've little to no clues here.
TheJackalMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-29-08, 01:16 AM
Member
 
StealingYerMail's Avatar
StealingYerMail's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 43
Reputation: 1
Default

D3s are explained on pg 5 of the 40k rulebook.

Last edited by StealingYerMail; 02-29-08 at 01:18 AM.
StealingYerMail is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-29-08, 01:19 AM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

The easiest way to do d3 is 1, 2, 3 = 1, 2, 3, and 4, 5, 6 = 1, 2, 3

But the official method is to halve it (1 & 2 = 1, 3 & 4 = 2, 5 & 6 =3), but the first way is easier and more intuitive IMO

Just if you use a way other than the official, make sure everyone knows.

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior




Last edited by Galahad; 02-29-08 at 01:22 AM.
Galahad is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-29-08, 01:24 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 152
Default

doh!, I knew it was right in front of me. Thanks guys.
TheJackalMan is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-29-08, 01:49 AM
Member
 
StealingYerMail's Avatar
StealingYerMail's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 43
Reputation: 1
Default

I didn't know that posting it was cool. I know GW is very protective of their Codices in rulebooks, so I didn't know if was OK to post that.

I just wanted to be clear that I didn't mean to be harsh when I gave you the page in the rulebook instead of explaining it!
StealingYerMail is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-29-08, 02:18 AM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

There's a thing called fair use, which means we;re allowed to discuss, quote and cite rules.

The only things that are really against the rules are posting whole statlines and itemized points cost for units.

But citing the page number a rule is on is always a good thing, even if you go on to explain the rule, telling a person where to find it themselves is just as important.

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-29-08, 04:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Deceiver's Avatar
Deceiver's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 538
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJackalMan View Post
So this may be a simple question but I was just wondering about the Might of Heroes Psychic power of the Space Marines' Librarians. It says they or any unit in their squad gains +D3 Attacks, now how is the D3 decided? do I roll a D6 and then divide by 2 and round up or down? I've little to no clues here.

FYI: they give themselves or 1 model in unit they are with +d3 attks.
In case you meant something different when saying any unit in their sqd.
Deceiver is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-29-08, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
thomas2's Avatar
thomas2's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,142
Reputation: 1
Default

Or you could just use a D6 with only 1,2 and 3 on the sides, like I have, which I believe is from a board game of some type.
thomas2 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-02-08, 07:15 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StealingYerMail View Post
I didn't know that posting it was cool. I know GW is very protective of their Codices in rulebooks, so I didn't know if was OK to post that.

I just wanted to be clear that I didn't mean to be harsh when I gave you the page in the rulebook instead of explaining it!
Considering that method of determining a D3 roll is used is quite a few different games, it's not really cool for GW to say they own it, or restrict anyone from explaining it online.
Now, if I was to ask you for the complete stats, points and rules of say, Mephiston, and you gave them to me, that would be a violation.
Explaining what a rule means or how it works in the game isn't, otherwise we wouldn't be allowed to help each other understand anything, and not many people would actually agree on how 40k is meant to be played.
Pariah Mk.231 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome