Drop Pod with Deathwind question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-28-10, 06:50 AM Thread Starter
Nectar of the Gods!
 
shampawnya's Avatar
shampawnya's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lloydminster, SK CANADA
Posts: 58
Reputation: 1
Icon Drop Pod with Deathwind question

On the turn that the drop pod arrives... can it fire its Deathwind Missile Launcher? I ask this as it is listed as a Heavy 1, and it technically moved (fell from the sky) and therefore cannot fire... or can it?
shampawnya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-28-10, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
chromedog's Avatar
chromedog's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newcastle, OZ
Posts: 2,410
Default

Drop pods can't fire ANY weapons on the turn they land.
They have moved at crusing speed and are not fast (the only vehicle type that CAN still fire after this).
Doesn't matter if it's just the storm bolter or the upgraded launcher.
If it has nothing in its entry that over-rides the non-fast vehicle at cruising speed firing x weapons, then it cannot.
(Black Templar pods may be able to).

The FW pod is a different matter.

Hey! Where'd ... Everybody ... go?
chromedog is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-28-10, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
SHarrington's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 436
Reputation: 1
Default

Should have seen the guy trying to argue that Tyranid Mycetic Spores cannot fire the turn they deepstrike in because they also move at Cruising Speed.

He actually went so far as to call the judge over. To his credit the judge tried real hard not to laugh at him. All he did is ask the guy what a creature's crusing speed is.

The guy turned beet red and told me to continue. Sigh.. Good times.
SHarrington is offline  
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-28-10, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
ItsPug's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Enniskillen, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,115
Reputation: 4
Default

Just a side note but the weapon type has no effect when firing vehicles, ie you can move and fire heavy weapons. The restriction is based on the speed the vehicle moved, which in this case is cruising speed, hence no firing.

BT drop pods do fire on the turn they land, as their entry in the codex says they do, hence overriding the normal rules.

Overall Tournament Game Results W:78 D:22 L:32
ItsPug is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-31-10, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
fuzzawakka's Avatar
fuzzawakka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 465
Reputation: 1
Default

When you assault a drop pod on the first turn it comes in do you hit on 6s since it moved at cruising speed or auto hit since it comes down immobilized?
fuzzawakka is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-31-10, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
SHarrington's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 436
Reputation: 1
Default

Page 63 of the BRB states that you auto hit any vehicle without a WS that was stationary in the previous turn, or is Immobilized.

Drop pods are auto immobilized on entry, thus always get auto hit.
SHarrington is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-31-10, 10:13 AM
Gog
Senior Member
 
Gog's Avatar
Gog's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bath, UK
Posts: 225
Reputation: 1
Default

Out of curiosity ware does it say that the Drop Pod has moved at cruising speed? as all I can find in the SM codex is that they deep strike,
If your playing the "well they drop from the sky" card then also think If you built a macine that can drop from space and disgorge 10 men in a state to fight then you could make a gun on it fire?

<--- Click the Spawn of the Warp
Gog is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-31-10, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Epatus's Avatar
Epatus's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 493
Reputation: 1
Default

BRB Pg 95, 6th Paragraph, last line: "Vehicles count as having moved at crusing speed".


Tactica: Space Marine Bike Armies
SCRATCH BUILT TAU MANTA (WIP)
Adeptus Mechanicus Army (WIP)
I have a rendezvous with Death, At some disputed barricade...
Epatus is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-01-10, 04:11 AM
Senior Member
 
fuzzawakka's Avatar
fuzzawakka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 465
Reputation: 1
Default

So I assume it auto hits because the immoblized > moving at cruising speed
fuzzawakka is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-01-10, 04:27 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Immobilized is a status, once it is that way it remains that way (barring a repair of some kind) so it supersedes the movement rate.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome