Drop Pod with Deathwind question - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-01-10, 05:08 AM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
Immobilized is a status, once it is that way it remains that way (barring a repair of some kind) so it supersedes the movement rate.
Just a quickie on this ... if an enemy vehicle got immobilized during the enemies shooting phase after the vehicle moved 12" it then becomes an auto hit on my turn? Ork gun fired at my guys and scattered onto his own vehicle and it ended up immobile. just for reference.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-01-10, 08:42 AM
Senior Member
SHarrington's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 436
Reputation: 1
Default

Yes, in fact it can be faster then that.
Here's a good example from my own games.

Broodlord and a squad of Genestealers assault a rhino that moved 12" last turn.

At initiative 7, the broodlord goes first, and scores a single hit thanks to only hitting on 6's. He glances and ends up immobilizing the rhino.

At initiative 6, the rest of the brood goes next, and they all auto-hit due to the vehicle being immobilized.


Doesn't seem very realistic, I agree, but 'dems da rules'.
SHarrington is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-01-10, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Epatus's Avatar
Epatus's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 493
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHarrington View Post
Yes, in fact it can be faster then that.
Here's a good example from my own games.

Broodlord and a squad of Genestealers assault a rhino that moved 12" last turn.

At initiative 7, the broodlord goes first, and scores a single hit thanks to only hitting on 6's. He glances and ends up immobilizing the rhino.

At initiative 6, the rest of the brood goes next, and they all auto-hit due to the vehicle being immobilized.


Doesn't seem very realistic, I agree, but 'dems da rules'.

Ummmmm... No.

BRB pg 63 Table in left hand column "Attacking a vehicle that is immobilised or was stationary in its previous turn >>> Automattic hit"

The only times when you get an automatic hit are:

1. When a vehicle is immobile
2. When a vehicle has not moved in it's movement phase (pivoting does not count as moving)
3. When a vehicle has been immobilised in another (i.e. not this one) turn (firend or foe) and is still immobilised or hasn't moved (i.e. repairs)

Examples:
1. Drop pod lands in players turn. Opponent assaults, as it is now immobile; automatic hits.
2. Vehicle does move in players turn. Opponent assaults vehicle; automatic hits.
3. Vehicle fails dangerous terrain test and becomes immobilised in players turn. Opponents assaults; automatic hits.

4. Player shoots vehicle and causes immobilised result. Player assaults vehicle; NOT automatic hits. The vehicle was not immobilised in the previous turn.
5. Player assaults vehicle with different initiative values. Highest causes immobilised, lower initiatives assault; NOT automatic hits. The vehicle was not immobilised in the previous turn.

Hope this helps.


Tactica: Space Marine Bike Armies
SCRATCH BUILT TAU MANTA (WIP)
Adeptus Mechanicus Army (WIP)
I have a rendezvous with Death, At some disputed barricade...
Epatus is offline  
 
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-01-10, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Just reread the Rule and that is incorrect Epetus

The phrasing is "Attacking a vehicle that is immobilised or was stationary in its previous turn"

If you had to have been Immobilised last turn it would say 'Was immobilised' But it doesn't. It only looks for things which are Immobilised, not things that were immobilised.

Aramoro

Last edited by Aramoro; 06-01-10 at 10:41 AM.
Aramoro is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-01-10, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Platton725's Avatar
Platton725's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Epatus View Post
Refutal of a vehicle hit on 6's when immobilized earlier in the same combat round....
You're wrong here actually. Since the attacks come in initiative order and the vehicle is immobilized when it's time for the regular stealers to strike, it is autohit.

I refer you to your own #1, the vehicle is in fact immobile when it's time to strike at I6 in this case.
Platton725 is offline  
post #16 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-01-10, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Epatus's Avatar
Epatus's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 493
Reputation: 1
Default

A very interesting counter. I have always taken it as something like...

Attacking a vehicle that [was] immobilised in its previous turn or was stationary in its last turn

I retract my statement, you learn something new everyday.

(Platton, when trying to quote, make sure you get it right... The quote you have attributed to me is not mine.)

Back to the topic anyone?


Tactica: Space Marine Bike Armies
SCRATCH BUILT TAU MANTA (WIP)
Adeptus Mechanicus Army (WIP)
I have a rendezvous with Death, At some disputed barricade...

Last edited by Epatus; 06-01-10 at 09:23 PM.
Epatus is offline  
post #17 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-01-10, 10:14 PM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

for shits and giggles riddle me this then ... same scenario kind of:
Trukk moves 13" on orks turn (RPJ), then it becomes the fearless Blood Ravens turn (me) I shoot him up with meltaguns. He told me that I needed 6's to hit. I told him piss off, I am shooting, not assaulting .... ..... ..... was I wrong, and do I need to say I am sorry for trampling his feelings?

Last edited by OIIIIIIO; 06-01-10 at 10:29 PM.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #18 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-01-10, 11:25 PM
Member
 
Platton725's Avatar
Platton725's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Epatus View Post
A very interesting counter. I have always taken it as something like...

Attacking a vehicle that [was] immobilised in its previous turn or was stationary in its last turn

I retract my statement, you learn something new everyday.

(Platton, when trying to quote, make sure you get it right... The quote you have attributed to me is not mine.)

Back to the topic anyone?
Ooops, sorry. Other forums which I hang out on frown deeply on block-quoting, so I thought I'd boil it down. And managed to change the meaning completely. Go me.

OT: Normal pods can't fire since they've moved @cruising speed, BT pods are worded as always being able to fire when they land, but that's the only deviation I can find.
Platton725 is offline  
post #19 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-02-10, 01:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Lord Reevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Killarney, Kerry,Ireland
Posts: 4,252
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talthewicked View Post
for shits and giggles riddle me this then ... same scenario kind of:
Trukk moves 13" on orks turn (RPJ), then it becomes the fearless Blood Ravens turn (me) I shoot him up with meltaguns. He told me that I needed 6's to hit. I told him piss off, I am shooting, not assaulting .... ..... ..... was I wrong, and do I need to say I am sorry for trampling his feelings?
Pg. 60 "if the target Vehicle is in range, roll to hit as normal" so his feelings were trampled appropriately.

If you shit in one hand and wish in the other we all know which one will fill up faster.

And as I walk in the valley of the shadow of death I will have no fear For I am the scariest mother f*cker in that goddamned valley!

Damn nature, You Scary!!!
Lord Reevan is offline  
post #20 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-02-10, 02:07 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Wow that was some really ballsy rules shenanigans, Tal. You did it right despite your opponent.

OT, Tal, your avatar is severely outdated!

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome