Question about teaming up - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-07-10, 02:23 AM Thread Starter
zkarnage27's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 44
Reputation: 1
Question about teaming up

Hey so this may seem like a really dumb question, but I was wondering If space marines could use tanks and stuff from other armies. Imperial Guard Specifically. I mean I know that space marines couldn't use a carnifex obviously, but could space marines use a leman Russ by chance. If so would it only be allowed in house games, or is it ok for tournaments as well?

zkarnage27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-07-10, 03:04 AM
Senior Member
maddermax's Avatar
maddermax's Flag is: Australia
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,976
Reputation: 8

It used to be allowed, many moons ago. The space wolves were well known for using the 'Russ, and the (chaos) Iron Warriors were known for using all sorts of normally IG tanks...

Now, however, no. Unless you agree otherwise with your opponent, it's expected that you choose everything from a single codex, so If you're using C:SM, you only get units from that book, and can't choose units from other books (even other SM books, like Space Wolves or Blood Angles).

The only way, without agreement from your opponent, to get units from two different books is to use Daemon Hunter or Witch Hunter Allies, as explained in their books. They have allowances for allies with IG or SM armies, and can add a little variety.

Anyway, hope that helps clear it up for you

PubHammer Brisbane
It's all in the name.

Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at our friendly club in a pub, Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.

Update:From the 25th of May 2014 we'll be Meeting at The Junction pub in Annerley, opposite Ace Comics and Games Still playing 40k, Warmachine and board games of all sorts!
maddermax is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-07-10, 03:05 AM
Senior Member
Amra_the_lion's Avatar
Amra_the_lion's Flag is: USA
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Thorton CO
Posts: 730
Reputation: 1

with opponents permission sure. In most tournaments no.

"And the seventh angel poured out his vial into the air;
And there came a great voice
Out the temple of heaven, from the throne, saying: It is done."
Amra_the_lion is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-07-10, 03:09 AM Thread Starter
zkarnage27's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 44
Reputation: 1

alright thank you guys a lot, that helps and I really appreciate it=]
zkarnage27 is offline  

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome