Questions... a lot of questions... - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-08, 12:04 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default Questions... a lot of questions...

We played during the weekend a good scenario and the Tau won again, but not without a sweet??? There were a lot of confusion about some rules but we came to a compromse.

Q.1 Can a Tau Commander be a independant character even with Drones...?

Q.2 Can a montrous creature go up and down in a building even if his base is twice the size of the place where he is suppose to stand and can't fit in between floors...??

Q.3 A beast with LEAPING can move 3D6, but what if there is difficult terrain in between, does he move with the better result of 3d6 as normal or with the result times 2???

thanks and more questions to follow!!!
Actarus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-08, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Silb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 505
Reputation: 1
Default

For question 2, unless a rule specifically says otherwise, I'd say the monstrous creature can. Maybe you can imagine that it's balancing itself on one leg.


Sig made by Tau Chaotix
Silb is offline  
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-08, 12:19 PM
Inquisitor
 
Bishop120's Avatar
Bishop120's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 963
Reputation: 1
Default

Question 1: Yes and No... he can be picked out independantly as if he were his own unit for the purposes of shooting at him but he may still join and leave other units freely and fights indepedantly in CC on his own.

Questions 2: Yes. There are no rules about the ground having to be as big or bigger than the base of your models. Yes a carnifex could theoretically stand at the top of a very big building even if the floor was very small.

Question 3: Leaping only gives them a fast charge of 12" but they DO NOT become beasts.. ergo they are still slowed in the normal fashion by difficult terrain and do not recieve any special benefits while slowed... ergo still 2D6 and take the highest. This is a generic answer and can change depending upon which Tyranid is givin this morph. Can you be more specific??



"The warrior who acts out of honor cannot fail. His honour is duty itself. Even his death - if it is honourable - is a reward and can be no failure, for it has come through duty. Seek honour as you act, therefore, and you will know no fear."

- Roboute Guilliman
Primarch of the Ultramarines
Bishop120 is offline  
 
post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-08, 12:34 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default

A tyranid warrior with leaping biomorph abilities is able to charged at 12 inches instead of 6... What about difficult terrain?? Sorry I just take to the owner of the tyranid!!!
Actarus is offline  
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-08, 12:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default

Q.4 Can a tyrannid warrior go through a door even if he does'nt fit throught it??? I know that a montrous creature just gonna make one!!!
Actarus is offline  
post #6 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-08, 12:43 PM
Inquisitor
 
Bishop120's Avatar
Bishop120's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 963
Reputation: 1
Default

The warrior w/ leaping becomes slowed by difficult terrain just like every body else. As he is a Tyranid he gets move through cover and may roll 3D6 instead of 2D6 like normal. He rolls 3D6 and takes the highest and may essentially move a max of 6 inches in difficult terrain. The reason for this is that it states in the leaping special rules specifically that the creature doesnot become a "beast" which is where they loose the ability to double the result of the roll. Per the Leaping rule though they may still make attacks when within 3" of a friendly model rather than the normal 2". Hope that clarifies things for your friend.



"The warrior who acts out of honor cannot fail. His honour is duty itself. Even his death - if it is honourable - is a reward and can be no failure, for it has come through duty. Seek honour as you act, therefore, and you will know no fear."

- Roboute Guilliman
Primarch of the Ultramarines
Bishop120 is offline  
post #7 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-08, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
CATzeentch's Avatar
CATzeentch's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Davis
Posts: 328
Reputation: 1
Default

well the terrain is difficult to describe. the base that it is usually on is a marker for basically a giant pile of rubble(city fight). The fancy doors and stairs and what not is so models can fit on it. So it can fit through a door or on a certain level because the building is just for looks.(assuming you were playing sities of death)
This is of course for area terrain so hopefully you understand.
CATzeentch is offline  
post #8 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-08, 12:47 PM
Inquisitor
 
Bishop120's Avatar
Bishop120's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 963
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Actarus View Post
Q.4 Can a tyrannid warrior go through a door even if he does'nt fit throught it??? I know that a montrous creature just gonna make one!!!
That depends entirely on how you aggreed to play the terrain with your opponent. If the terrain is being played as "area terrain" then yes he may move through it. If it is being played as "WYSIWIG or What You See Is What You Get" then no. Its best to agree on the effects of terrain before you begin the game. I would read pages 16 and 17 of the BGB to get a good idea on the effects of everything and judge for yourself.



"The warrior who acts out of honor cannot fail. His honour is duty itself. Even his death - if it is honourable - is a reward and can be no failure, for it has come through duty. Seek honour as you act, therefore, and you will know no fear."

- Roboute Guilliman
Primarch of the Ultramarines
Bishop120 is offline  
post #9 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-08, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
maxtangent's Avatar
maxtangent's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Somewhere in between reality and my interpretation of it.
Posts: 232
Reputation: 1
Default

Even if you agree to disallow it, remember that you can take Flesh Hooks on a 'Fex - that means it could scale the outside of a building (impassable vertical terrain) as if it were Difficult Terrain (while still benefiting from the 'Moves through cover' rule).

"Yeah, and if wishes were horses we'd all be eating steak."
maxtangent is offline  
post #10 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-18-08, 01:13 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default

Q.5 When there is a weapons destroyed on a vehicule, is it the owner who decide what is destroyed or the opponent??? And is it automaticely the strongest weapons and down...
Actarus is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome