Walker attacks - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-18-10, 06:29 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Blackheart_101's Avatar
Blackheart_101's Flag is: Bosnia Herzegovina
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 115
Reputation: 1
Default Walker attacks

Hi, all. I'm fairly new to the hobby, and am still trying to get a grip on the rules. I have two questions about walkers:

1. If a walker has two close combat weapons in its wargear (eg. the new Deff Dread) does that mean that it gets an additional attack in close combat plus the attacks written in its profile, or is it just the default value with the two weapons included ?

2. When a walker moves to assault, does it get a +1 attack bonus for assaulting ?



Help would be very much appreciated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serpion5 View Post
GOLDEN THRONE: Does it include a flush? Or is that what the "custodians" are really there for?
C:\Documents and Settings\Mina\Desktop\jeffbanner[3].jpg
Blackheart_101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-18-10, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Wraithian's Avatar
Wraithian's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Posts: 922
Reputation: 1
Default

I can't speak about Deff Dreads, as I'm a chaos player, but I'll give you a general idea (hope you find it helpful).

If you have a dreadnought, it has a base attacks profile. If you give it an additional close combat arm (to replace the ranged heavy weapon), it indeed does get an extra attack.

Yes, you do receive the extra attack for the charge, also.

Level me up! I, too, wish to storm the lands of mortals reaping what is truly mine...but for now, I am but a wee spot of energy...

Clicky!





"I embrace death without fear as I embrace life without regret."
Wraithian is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-18-10, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Blackheart_101's Avatar
Blackheart_101's Flag is: Bosnia Herzegovina
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 115
Reputation: 1
Default

Thank you very much, it is indeed very helpful. I guess it's the same thing for Deff Dreds. Three attacks by default, if you give it two more cc weapons, that would be five, and them another one for the charge, it comes out as max six attacks. Am I right ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serpion5 View Post
GOLDEN THRONE: Does it include a flush? Or is that what the "custodians" are really there for?
C:\Documents and Settings\Mina\Desktop\jeffbanner[3].jpg
Blackheart_101 is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-18-10, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Wraithian's Avatar
Wraithian's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Posts: 922
Reputation: 1
Default

Sounds about right.

Level me up! I, too, wish to storm the lands of mortals reaping what is truly mine...but for now, I am but a wee spot of energy...

Clicky!





"I embrace death without fear as I embrace life without regret."
Wraithian is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-18-10, 09:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Culler's Avatar
Culler's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,372
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackheart_101 View Post
Thank you very much, it is indeed very helpful. I guess it's the same thing for Deff Dreds. Three attacks by default, if you give it two more cc weapons, that would be five, and them another one for the charge, it comes out as max six attacks. Am I right ?
Yes. Though if it wasn't FAQed to change it the deff dread with 2 extra DCCWs would have 7 attacks on the charge as worded.
Culler is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-19-10, 11:40 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Blackheart_101's Avatar
Blackheart_101's Flag is: Bosnia Herzegovina
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 115
Reputation: 1
Default

K guys, thnx very much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serpion5 View Post
GOLDEN THRONE: Does it include a flush? Or is that what the "custodians" are really there for?
C:\Documents and Settings\Mina\Desktop\jeffbanner[3].jpg
Blackheart_101 is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-19-10, 01:04 PM
Junior Member
 
relicmoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 19
Reputation: 1
Default

Surely if it has 3 base attacks, then giving it 2 CCWs (DCCWs) would increase its attacks to 4, not 5. You can't increase attacks by more than +1 by adding more CCWs.
Then it would have 5 on the charge.
Amirite?
relicmoss is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-19-10, 01:12 PM
Senior Member
 
FORTHELION's Avatar
FORTHELION's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: dundalk
Posts: 581
Reputation: 2
Default

Relic moss is correct.
3 bass attacks
1 for two close combat weapons
1 for charge

5 in total
FORTHELION is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-19-10, 01:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Inquisitor Varrius's Avatar
Inquisitor Varrius's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,791
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Wargear: 2 Dreadnought close combat weapons (each additional cc weapon adds +1 Attack to the Dread's Attack)
Ork Codex pg 102, Deff Dreads.

We're just special.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucio View Post
Camo is the color of cowardice but if the only ones to call you a coward are now a puddle of plasma there isnt a problem.
Inquisitor Varrius is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-19-10, 02:26 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Actually you're not...

BRB pg73, box titled Dreadnought Close Combat Weapons, second to last sentence:

Quote:
If a walker is armed with two or more close combat weapons, it gains one bonus attack for each additional weapon over the first.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome