Rapid Fire combi-plasma? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-17-08, 05:35 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Reputation: 1
Default Rapid Fire combi-plasma?

I'm not totally sure. The logical intent in me says yes, seeing as how combi-meltas and combi-plasma guns have the same cost (why would you pay the same points for a gun with lower strength and AP that overheats), but the technical wording (in its traditionally unclear English linguistics) indicates that a combi-weapon's special shot may only be fired once per battle. Is there a ruling for this?
sneakNINJA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-17-08, 06:28 AM
Inquisitor
 
Bishop120's Avatar
Bishop120's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 963
Reputation: 1
Default

Yes you may rapid fire the plasma part once per game. It follows all the rules for a plasma weapon so that includes rapid firing and all the rules that go along with that.

And as to why? Thats 2 chances at killing something rather 1 or should I say a chance to kill 2 models rather than 1. Especially since you can give it to BS 5 guys who hit on a 2+. Give it to a guy in Terminator armor and use it prior to assualting someone.



"The warrior who acts out of honor cannot fail. His honour is duty itself. Even his death - if it is honourable - is a reward and can be no failure, for it has come through duty. Seek honour as you act, therefore, and you will know no fear."

- Roboute Guilliman
Primarch of the Ultramarines
Bishop120 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-17-08, 06:34 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Reputation: 1
Default

Thanks for clarifying. As for the why, I was asking under the hypothetical assumption that the plasma gun could only fire once. I was entertaining the question because I have yet to see a chaos terminator squad that uses combi-plasma guns (and, thinking that they would seem pretty good at 35pts with a power weapon and deepstrike into 2 plasma shots, I assumed that they'd not allowed that). Essentially I am going to be making combi-plasma guns for a bunch of my chaos terminators (there's no chaos term bit for it), and don't want to light my time on fire by giving them a useless upgrade. Thanks again!

Last edited by sneakNINJA; 02-17-08 at 06:37 AM.
sneakNINJA is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-17-08, 06:35 AM
Inquisitor
 
Bishop120's Avatar
Bishop120's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 963
Reputation: 1
Default

Yep it works. Just dont kill the unit you wish to assualt before you actually assualt them! lol

Have fun and good luck!



"The warrior who acts out of honor cannot fail. His honour is duty itself. Even his death - if it is honourable - is a reward and can be no failure, for it has come through duty. Seek honour as you act, therefore, and you will know no fear."

- Roboute Guilliman
Primarch of the Ultramarines
Bishop120 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome