Some IG questions - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-23-06, 01:48 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default Some IG questions

1) If I buy an equipment doctrine, do my special squads get it as well? Like can I get consripts and ratlings chem-inhalers? Also, can use a junior officer's Ld for them if they are within 12"?

2) For a vox-caster, does only that platoon's command squad benefit from or do the support squads get it as well? For example, I buy a heavy weapon platoon. Does the vox-caster give only my junior officer and his 4 man squad the Ld bonus or do my Lascannon squads get it as well?

Thanks for helping.
sportman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-23-06, 03:17 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default

1) Only Guard Infantry (or other units specifically mentioned in the doctrine) can take doctrines. Reread your codex.

2) Only units with a voxcaster can use the voxcaster. If the support squads are within 12" of the Command Squad, then yes they can use the officers modified LD, otherwise, no.

Benconnor Independent Commando
W/L/T
12/6/3

Lesson for the Month: Hug cover until the Armour arrives. If you don't have Armour, take that objective and hold it.
PadreJim is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-26-06, 02:33 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Hey another question. Can I use a commisar in my command squad so that my master-vox gives everyone LD 10? Thanks
sportman is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-26-06, 03:22 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Of course you can.

Commissar + Junior Officer w/Honourifica Imperialis + Master-Vox + Voxes all over the place = LD 10 for every unit that can cary a Voxcaster for +/- 200 points.

Benconnor Independent Commando
W/L/T
12/6/3

Lesson for the Month: Hug cover until the Armour arrives. If you don't have Armour, take that objective and hold it.
PadreJim is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-27-06, 09:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Default

Actually, the commissars leadership bonus only applies to leadership checks the command squad has to take, not for squads using his leadership. The only way to get a LD10 vox is with the Imperial High Commander.

10,000 points if Guard is like $50,000 in nickels. Sure it's $50,000, but it's all in nickels...
Necrontyr is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-28-06, 10:16 AM
Ex Mod.
 
cccp's Avatar
cccp's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 4,245
Reputation: 1
Default

the honorifica gives the Jo the profile of a HSO, so he has a LD of 9, then the +1 of the commissar which makes 10
cccp is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-28-06, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
LongBeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Macclesfield
Posts: 630
Default

Yep the HI gives the JO LD9 then adding In the Commissar Increases It to 10 which can then be transferred down the vox, Just hope you don't fail a test or the JO gets slapped down!
I've generally found a HSO with standard to do the job fine commissars can be a bit pricy and risky, all depends on the build of your list really?

''I Beard therefore I am!''

LongBeard (AKA Bennetio!)
LongBeard is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-28-06, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Default

Ok, the HI gives a JO ld9, the Commissar than gives him a +1 for all leadership checks the Command squad has to take, and only those checks. It does not apply to other squads using his leadership. Since Vox checks are not leadership checks the Command Squad is taking, they do not get the +1 bonus. They do get to use the Ld of 9 however.

10,000 points if Guard is like $50,000 in nickels. Sure it's $50,000, but it's all in nickels...
Necrontyr is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-28-06, 04:35 PM
Ex Mod.
 
cccp's Avatar
cccp's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 4,245
Reputation: 1
cccp is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-28-06, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Default

I'm curious as to how you came to this conclusion PadreJim? I'm not against it, as my infantry army uses a vox network extensively and this would be an awesome addition!

As I read it though:
Codex: Ld+1 Applies to leadership checkls the command squad has to take.

According to the FAQ though, Iron Discipline, Trademark Items, and other special rules do not go down a vox network.

But then it also says that the +1 LD does appy to his command rule. The command rule doesn't affect the vox network though... so I'm not sure how that applies.

Just curious as to your interpretation.

10,000 points if Guard is like $50,000 in nickels. Sure it's $50,000, but it's all in nickels...
Necrontyr is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome