Some IG questions - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-28-06, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
FrozenOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 383
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Necrontyr
According to the FAQ though, Iron Discipline, Trademark Items, and other special rules do not go down a vox network.
If you go to the Erratas page you'll notice that that FAQ is in the Old Codex FAQs section.


Heresy grows from idleness.
FrozenOrb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-28-06, 06:42 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Default

Well yes it is, because there isn't a 4th edition Guard codex, there is only an old codex...
Necrontyr is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-29-06, 04:27 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Wait another thing is if I take an Independant Commissar can he go and attach himself to either a conscript or rattling squad and give them all LD 10? That would solve many of my problems.
sportman is offline  
 
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-29-06, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
jigplums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,602
Reputation: 5
Default

the old faq's are still the current interpretation of the rules. they just get replaced when the new codex comes out, and then the new faq comes out relevent to the new codex.

Check out my gamer Blog
http://gamergeekery.blogspot.co.uk/2...rs-in-40k.html

Jezlad "I actually commented that Jigplums list was the least scary list I faced. Then took a pasting"
http://www.coolminiornot.com/artist/jigplums
http://www.coolminiornot.com/160095
jigplums is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-02-07, 10:24 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 221
Default

Page 41 of the Imperial Guard 4th Edition Codex reads, "The presense of a Commisar in a unit will therefore add +1 to the Leadership characteristic of the officer or sergeant commanding the unit for tests affecting the unit."

With that said, it's a pretty glaringly obvious no. As units that are vox-linked are not the same unit, only the unit with the Commisar gets the +1 bonus. Meaning that it doesn't transfer down the vox line.
Antioch is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-13-07, 05:27 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 801
Default

Nothing quite like the actual text in question to solve problems. With writing that clear, I'm surprised so damn many people get it confused.
uberschveinen is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-28-07, 10:48 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Well, it's confusing because the FAQ disagrees with the test in the codex. Bear in mind that these FAQs were written to allow us to continue to us our "old Codex" in 4th ed. There are two parts of the FAQ related to this discussion.

1. The boosted Leadership works for the Officer's Leadership rule. So any unit within 12" of the Officer can test at LD 10 (Assuming HSO or Honorifica with Commissar).

2. Special rules such as Iron D, etc do not work down a Vox link.

Don "MONDO"

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome