Eldar avatar? - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-11-08, 09:42 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 275
Default

he isnt invunrable to instant death no but he does have t6 so you would need other things like force weapons, wraithguns or something like that.

martin
martin4696 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-11-08, 10:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Deceiver's Avatar
Deceiver's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 538
Reputation: 1
Default

Instant death is 99.9% of the time due to failing a save vs double toughness.
T6 and higher models are few but the shizzle to have.
Deceiver is offline  
post #13 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-11-08, 10:34 PM
Senior Member
Hespithe's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,648
Default

Just keep in mind that in order for the Avatar to die from one hit, he'd actually have to be facing his own race (silly, that is), facing off against a high-cost or special character (pretty likely if you don't play it safe), or playing him in an APOC game (which, oddly enough, is the best theatre for him fluff-wise).

Generally, keep him away from Librarians and Wraithguard and you should have no worries.
Hespithe is offline  
 
post #14 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-11-08, 11:43 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,210
Default

what about necron lords with that 6+ death blade ?
Mad King George is offline  
post #15 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-11-08, 11:49 PM
Senior Member
Hespithe's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,648
Default

Um... Necron Lords do not have a 6+ death blade. They have either a Staff of Light, or a Warscythe, neither of which causes instant death for any reason, as both are only Str5.

I imagine that the C'Tan, being very strong, will double-To the hizzy out of a lot of models, but not the Avatar of Khaine.

Is there another Necron model I'm not aware of?
Hespithe is offline  
post #16 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-12-08, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Lemartes's Avatar
Lemartes's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 139
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hespithe View Post

Is there another Necron model I'm not aware of?
Nope, you're not.

Necrons aint got no ID weapons like Eldar.

Lemartes is offline  
post #17 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-12-08, 08:51 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,210
Default

do they have rending ?
Mad King George is offline  
post #18 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-12-08, 09:07 AM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

Just so it's clear, Force Weapons do *not* inflict 'Instant Death' they simply slay outright. Never is the Instant Death rule invoked (I know it sounds petty, but it's an important distinction. Names of rules are capitalized for a reason) This means Abby and DPs *can* be killed by force weapons.

Now, with that said, the Wraithlord is *not* immune to Instant Death, but since no S12 weapons exist, there's only one thing I know of that can inflict Instant Death upon him (Not counting Force Weapons which,as stated, work differently)...The Blissgiver.

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
post #19 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-12-08, 12:51 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,210
Default

so force weapons just kill them no matter what its not instant death but it is ?
Mad King George is offline  
post #20 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-12-08, 02:14 PM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

It makes them die, instantly...but unless it says "Instant Death" it's not inflicting Instant Death. List like how opting to move your troops backwards isn;t the same as a unit that's Falling BacK.

The big thing with GW rules (and rules in general) is that unless it says it is, then it isn't.

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome