Mycetic Spore and tank shocking - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-30-10, 01:56 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Kaizer's Avatar
Kaizer's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 212
Reputation: 1
Default Mycetic Spore and tank shocking

I ended up in a funny sitation a couple of nights ago. Me and some friends end up playing a 2 vs 2 battle, Space wolves and CSM vs. My deathwing and a little detachment of tyranids.

The situation started when the chaos player decided to tank shock the nid players mycetic spore aka. snot pod.

And here the problems starts. The snot pod would end up beneath the tankshocking rhino, and after tank shocking rules it would have to be moved so it weren't beneath or with in 1" of the rhino, but the snot pod may not move... so? We ended up letting it do death or glory, and failed so it died.

What would you do in a situation as this? Would you do as we did, would you move the pod? Any other ideas?

"Baby, Im a heretic, and your a spineless imperalist"
Kaizer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-30-10, 02:42 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Just like a Mawloc and an immobilised vehicle, I'd just move the model out of the way. The model should be moved unless there is no room for it to be moved, regardless of it's ability to move of its own volition.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-30-10, 02:57 PM
Member
 
Fenge's Avatar
Fenge's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39
Reputation: 1
Default

Would an immobalised tank not just get rammed instead?
Fenge is offline  
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-30-10, 03:25 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Yes, a ram Vs. an immobilised vehicle would result in a ram, but the Mawloc moves models out of the way (destroying any who can't be moved) in the same way, but it is not a tank shock/ram. I just used it as an example (from a recent thread here).

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-30-10, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
solkan's Avatar
solkan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 596
Reputation: 1
Default

I'm not a big fan of mandatory Death or Glory either. The two better alternatives, I think, are:

1. The prohibition for the pod is "move" in the active mood. The wording for tank shock is "is moved" in the passive mood. So if a tank shocking tank ends its movement on top of the pod, relocating the pod is acceptable.

2. Because the pod cannot move, then the tank must give way and if it would end its move on top of the pod then it has to stop before coming into contact with the pod.

Of course, the third alternative is to fabricate some special rules to deal with the situation of trying to ram a tank into what must be the single biggest (by volume, even it if might be mostly empty) mass of flesh on the board. It should be fairly likely that a ground vehicle would get stuck inside the pod in that sort of situation.

Fight for freedom against the undead Emporer!
solkan is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-30-10, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 124
Reputation: 1
Default

I would imagine most Tyranid players in this situation would just be taking the Death or Glory. S6 automatic hit from a 40-60 pt MC... and if it fails you just lose a BS2 creature.
Arcangon is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-30-10, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Taggerung's Avatar
Taggerung's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 870
Reputation: 3
Default

Ya, the thing gets 2d6 + 6, so why not death or glory!



Check out my DKOK Project Log!

Armies : Raven Lords Chapter, 219th Siege Regiment and Da Grotteef Waaaaghhhh

Currently Painting : 219th Siege Regiment, about 25% done! Last updated 3/7/2013
Taggerung is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-30-10, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default

The rules for the Spore say it can never move for any reason once it has entered the battle. It would seem to be a forced Death or Glory action.
darklove is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-31-10, 02:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Avatar
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,461
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darklove View Post
The rules for the Spore say it can never move for any reason once it has entered the battle. It would seem to be a forced Death or Glory action.
I agree, and as people have pointed out, why wouldn't you do that anyway? It's not like its reliable for shooting
Wolf_Lord_Skoll is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 01-31-10, 08:14 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Kaizer's Avatar
Kaizer's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 212
Reputation: 1
Default

I wouldn't just do it, because it would be an extremely easy way to gain a killpoint. I can see in the end most times the pod will penetrate the tank with out much of a problem, but the chance of the tank just getting some minor damage is bigger than the tank getting wrecked or destroyed, which for me is a problem.

It might not be reliable for shooting, but mission wise it can either contest an objective if placed right or as above be a killpoint.

"Baby, Im a heretic, and your a spineless imperalist"
Kaizer is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome