Chaplain and lightning claw - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-22-07, 10:00 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pathwinder14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 999
Reputation: 1
Default Chaplain and lightning claw

OK. So I am building a deathwing army. Besides the master of the deathwing, I want to have a chaplain. I plan on placing him in a unit of close assault terminators with pairs of lightning claws and an assault cannon. Should I get the chaplain a lightning claw as well?

They have 2 attacks base. A pair of lightning claws would make it 3 attacks and then charging bonus would bring it to 4 attacks each (except the guy with the assault cannon. He's going to have a chain fist). If I do my math correct I'm looking at 24 attacks on the charge.

Chaplain will have 2 base attacks, +1 for terminator honors, +1 for 2 close combat weapons, and +1 for the charge. That's 5.

The squad will have 4 guys with paired lightning claws. That's 2 attacks, +1 for two close combat weapons, +1 for charging. That's 16 more.

The last Terminator will have an assault cannon and a chainfist. That's 2 attacks and +1 for charging. That's another 3.

THe total comes to 24 attacks. They reroll failed to-hits and failed to-wounds with power weapons.

Think this is nuts? :D

Wisdom means having the ability to admit what you do not know. - Me

Mother nature does not give do overs. - Me too
pathwinder14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-23-07, 03:08 AM
The Hebrew Hammer
 
The Son of Horus's Avatar
The Son of Horus's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 6,544
Reputation: 60
Default

He comes with a crozius... might as well leave him with it. He's there to make the assault squad re-roll its misses on the charge, not to win the assault on his own. You could add some firepower to the unit by giving him a combi-melta, combi-plasma, or storm bolter though. Especially if you want to have an assault cannon in the mixed unit-- it makes it a surprisingly tactical squad.

IN THE US? ASK ME HOW TO GET 10% OFF GAMES WORKSHOP PRODUCTS!

My homebrew Space Marine Chapter: The Astartes Lions Rampant

The Son of Horus is offline  
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-23-07, 03:46 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pathwinder14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 999
Reputation: 1
Default

I'm not going to take the crozuis away, just add a lightning claw as a second close combat weapon.

Wisdom means having the ability to admit what you do not know. - Me

Mother nature does not give do overs. - Me too
pathwinder14 is offline  
 
post #4 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-23-07, 04:08 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 801
Default

Think about it this way. Is rerolling wound results going to make that extra thirty points worthwhile?
uberschveinen is offline  
post #5 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-23-07, 04:50 AM
The Hebrew Hammer
 
The Son of Horus's Avatar
The Son of Horus's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 6,544
Reputation: 60
Default

it's twenty-five points like that... still not really worth it.

IN THE US? ASK ME HOW TO GET 10% OFF GAMES WORKSHOP PRODUCTS!

My homebrew Space Marine Chapter: The Astartes Lions Rampant

The Son of Horus is offline  
post #6 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-23-07, 10:23 AM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

Technically you have to pay the full 30 and give him a pair of LCs or else he won;t get a second attack.

I did that on my chaplain, but he was the only one in the squad with a power weapon or LCs (excpt a powerfist or two...death company)

In this case, when there's already so many LCs in an already expensive unit, I'd be tempted to min down the chaplain

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
post #7 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-23-07, 01:11 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
pathwinder14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 999
Reputation: 1
Default

Why doesn't he get the second attack? I read through the rules last night and the FAQ. It did not saying anything about having to take a pair to qualify as an extra close combat weapon. He has a Crozuis and a Lightning Claw. That's two close combat weapons. Did I miss something somewhere?

BTW, my regular chaplain costs 166 points. Armed this way, the chaplain only costs 165 points. So what's the problem with the points costs? I'm giving him Terminator Honors, Terminator Armor, and a Lightning Claw.

Wisdom means having the ability to admit what you do not know. - Me

Mother nature does not give do overs. - Me too
pathwinder14 is offline  
post #8 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-23-07, 02:39 PM
Ex Mod.
 
cccp's Avatar
cccp's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 4,245
Reputation: 1
Default

i think it says in the rulebook and probably in the appropriate codex. and yeah he does need 2 claws to count for 2 ccw
cccp is offline  
post #9 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-23-07, 03:02 PM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

It's in the description of the LC in the SM codex. Why else would you pay 5 points more for 1 if buying a 1pd bolt pistol would get you a second attack and a shooting attack?

I'm not saying it isn't worth the points, just that it's an expensive option and considering the proliferation of LCs, you could get by without it. If you want to go for it though, by all means.

It works very, very well. But there's times I look at my chaplain and wish I couldshave some points off. (especially considering BA chaplains are expensive as fuck anyhow)

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
post #10 of 37 (permalink) Old 01-23-07, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
blkdymnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 432
Default

Pg 46 of the main rulebook...

"Lightning Claws are usually used as matched pairs, as only a second lightning claw can provide an additional close combat weapon attack bonus for a model equipped with one."
blkdymnd is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome