Can an Oblit's Plasma cannon blow up? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-20-10, 09:34 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
The Sullen One's Avatar
The Sullen One's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Republic of Wigan
Posts: 2,242
Reputation: 1
Can an Oblit's Plasma cannon blow up?

Since Obliterator's grow their Plasma Cannons rather than lug them around the way most units do, are they still subject to the same penalty on rolling a one?
The Sullen One is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-20-10, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Ryuzaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 206
Reputation: 1
Default

Unfortunatly there's no rule to say otherwise, so yes.

I can read your mind. Right now you think I'm lying.

games from August 2009 - now
w/d/l
21/4/6

Check out my black legion W.I.P

GENERATION 7: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
Ryuzaki is offline  
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-20-10, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
maddermax's Avatar
maddermax's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,976
Reputation: 8
Default

Yep, when it comes to actually firing them, they're just a guy with a plasma cannon (or plasma gun if they want), and take wounds for "Gets Hot!" rules as well. The good thing is, between a 2+ save and 2 wounds a piece, it rarely has an effect on the game

PubHammer Brisbane
It's all in the name.

Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at our friendly club in a pub, Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.

Update:From the 25th of May 2014 we'll be Meeting at The Junction pub in Annerley, opposite Ace Comics and Games Still playing 40k, Warmachine and board games of all sorts!
maddermax is offline  
 
post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-20-10, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
BiOHaTe's Avatar
BiOHaTe's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 262
Reputation: 1
Default

Yeah plasmas only stay cool on vehicles.

"If man dedicates his life to good deeds and welfare of others, he will die unthanked and unremembered. If he excercises his genius bringing misery and death to billions, his name will echo down through the millennia for a hundred lifetimes. Infamy is always more preferable to ignominy. "
- Fabius Bile at the Desecration of Kanzuz IX
BiOHaTe is offline  
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-20-10, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
MJayC50's Avatar
MJayC50's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oxford
Posts: 332
Reputation: 1
Default

im not sure but technically if two oblits both end up getting hot and both failing the armour saves that means that you lose a model? 2 wounds, armed the same - have to take off whole models if possible... not likely to happen but im sure it has somewhere. But yes. declare your firing plasma then roll 1 dice per oblit. on a roll of a 1 - no shot is fired and he takes an armour save!

As for the statement that hes a pussy in close combat... ignore that. He shreds things. Nothing with Str 10, 5 attacks that ignore invunerable saves should be called a pussy. - JackalMJ

*** Oxford Gaming Club Blog ***
MJayC50 is offline  
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-20-10, 03:59 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

yes, if you take a wound from gets hot then the 'unit' suffers it, not the model... so you could kill a oblit from 2 gets hot in 1 turn... if you are the unluckiest person alive (1in1296 chance).

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #7 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-20-10, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
DaafiejjXD's Avatar
DaafiejjXD's Flag is: Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 499
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiOHaTe View Post
Yeah plasmas only stay cool on vehicles.
No, I disagree, tau plasma's stay cool. Why doesn't some smart(radical) tech priest steal this/their tech!? Really, it would save a LOT men and women brave enough to fight with plasma weapons, and then FINALLY someone can master plasma weapons(outside the tau empire).


Army of Redemption: W:24 D:3 L:9
DaafiejjXD is offline  
post #8 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-20-10, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 679
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
yes, if you take a wound from gets hot then the 'unit' suffers it, not the model... so you could kill a oblit from 2 gets hot in 1 turn... if you are the unluckiest person alive (1in1296 chance).
Does the model not suffer the wound? I can't fail a gets hot save & take of a bolter marine

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaafiejjXD View Post
No, I disagree, tau plasma's stay cool. Why doesn't some smart(radical) tech priest steal this/their tech!?
the use & possession of Xenos tech is ...frowned upon...
clever handle is offline  
post #9 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-20-10, 05:09 PM
Senior Member
 
DaafiejjXD's Avatar
DaafiejjXD's Flag is: Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 499
Reputation: 1
Default

I know.. but still, if a tech priest says he re-invented plasma tech, and he can make people to believe that, the imperium would be even stronger than it is now.


Army of Redemption: W:24 D:3 L:9
DaafiejjXD is offline  
post #10 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-20-10, 05:38 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clever handle View Post
Does the model not suffer the wound? I can't fail a gets hot save & take of a bolter marine
The model type takes the wound- if you have a unit of SM with 2 plasma guns and 1 dies from a gets hot then you can remove either.
With a unit of 2 oblits if you get 2 gets hot wounds which you fail to save then each takes 1 wound, but the rules for multi-wound units says that these wounds then condense onto as few identicalk models as possible... since all oblitorators are identical they can never split wounds bewteen them (as say, an ork Nob unit could).

Tim/Steve is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome