re-roll if fail+ re-roll if sucessfull - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-10, 11:36 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Blammer's Avatar
Blammer's Flag is: Iceland
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
Posts: 304
Reputation: 1
Default re-roll if fail+ re-roll if sucessfull

So i am wondering what to do if a model re-rolls both for sucessfull and failed stuff. For example Lukas the Trickster (alone) is shot by a twin-linked weapon, the enemy can re-roll failed hits but he must also re-roll sucessfull hits. While the rulebook says that a dice may only be re-rolled once!!!

So if a situation like this arises should I just treat it as if the two negate each other?

Thanks

Blammer

There is no such thing as fiction. Given that the multiple-universe quantum theory is correct then all events that happen in ´´fiction´´ actually happen in some other universe.
Blammer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-10, 11:53 AM
Senior Member
 
dakari-mane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 325
Default

Technically you roll all the dice to hit. Pick all of them up (as they will have all been either successes or failiures) & roll them all again.

The overall effect is that they cancel out

May is not must.

If in doubt always choose the lesser of two weevils


just freaking do it ok?
dakari-mane is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-10, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Blammer's Avatar
Blammer's Flag is: Iceland
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
Posts: 304
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dakari-mane View Post
Technically you roll all the dice to hit. Pick all of them up (as they will have all been either successes or failiures) & roll them all again.

The overall effect is that they cancel out
Thank you for answering that question.

There is no such thing as fiction. Given that the multiple-universe quantum theory is correct then all events that happen in ´´fiction´´ actually happen in some other universe.
Blammer is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-10, 12:27 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Just talk to your opponent- you can throw all the dice blindfolded, pick them all up and toss them again, or you coud agree with them that doing so is silly and just take whatever the first dice throw is.... always do this before any dice are thrown though: before dice are thrown its a non-partisan issue (makes no difference to the game), after dice are thrown whichever side was unlucky wants the dice re-rolled (ie if you rolled all 1s you'ld want a re-roll and your opponent wouldnt). Inevitably at that point an argument would ensue

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-10, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default

Actually this sort of thing happens a lot. What happens is that the re-rolls cancel out = nothing is re-rolled. You just roll once and thats it.
darklove is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-10, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Ryuzaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 206
Reputation: 1
Default

Both options are fine, but personally I'd follow the (pointless) rule and re-roll everything to avoid an argument.

I can read your mind. Right now you think I'm lying.

games from August 2009 - now
w/d/l
21/4/6

Check out my black legion W.I.P

GENERATION 7: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
Ryuzaki is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-10, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Flame80010's Avatar
Flame80010's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 496
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryuzaki View Post
Both options are fine, but personally I'd follow the (pointless) rule and re-roll everything to avoid an argument.
but if they both reroll wouldnt it technicly become an endless loop?
Flame80010 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-10, 03:00 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

No, because you may never re-roll a re-rolled die.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-10, 10:57 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryuzaki View Post
Both options are fine, but personally I'd follow the (pointless) rule and re-roll everything to avoid an argument.
You pretty much MUST talk to your opponent before any dice are rolled (that would have the rerolls, not for the game). By RAW you must roll the dice and then re-roll all of them, but the FAQs and common usage is that if you re-roll all results it cancels out so nothing is rerolled... this means that there is a good argument for both re-rolling all and re-rolling nothing. If you havent agreed on what you are doing then there will be friction.
- the other solution it to roll them in such a way as it is obvious you arent looking at the results.

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-07-10, 11:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Ryuzaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 206
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
By RAW you must roll the dice and then re-roll all of them, but the FAQs and common usage is that if you re-roll all results it cancels out so nothing is rerolled... this means that there is a good argument for both re-rolling all and re-rolling nothing.
Sorry, I wasn't aware of the FAQ. In that case I'd come to an agreement before rolling.

I can read your mind. Right now you think I'm lying.

games from August 2009 - now
w/d/l
21/4/6

Check out my black legion W.I.P

GENERATION 7: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
Ryuzaki is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome