Assaulting vehicles - if you're in b2b on your opponent's turn do you keep attacking? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-05-10, 04:39 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Culler's Avatar
Culler's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,372
Reputation: 1
Default Assaulting vehicles - if you're in b2b on your opponent's turn do you keep attacking?

At my FLGS the other day my opponent told me that my boyz who assaulted and immobilized his tank get to make attacks on his turn because they're still in base to base contact with the vehicle. They don't consolidate or anything but the models that are in base contact or 2" of a model in base contact get to attack. This is apparently a widely-held view there, but I'm personally not so sure. Obviously with walkers they're actually locked in assault, but what about with a vehicle that just hasn't moved out of base contact?
Culler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-05-10, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
solkan's Avatar
solkan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Moorhead, MN
Posts: 596
Reputation: 1
Default

It's a widely held view because it's in the rules on page 63 of the rulebook, in the section Successive Turns.

If the vehicle is still in base contact, whether it couldn't move or because the player chose not to move it, models in base contact get to treat it like an ongoing assault.

Fight for freedom against the undead Emporer!
solkan is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-06-10, 02:39 AM
Senior Member
 
chromedog's Avatar
chromedog's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newcastle, OZ
Posts: 2,410
Default

Non-walker vehicles (and vehicles without WS) are NOT locked in assault.
If they are do not (or cannot - stunned or immob) move away in their turn or choose not to shoot you in their turn - you are free to disengage in your movement phase, and charge back in in your assault phase, regaining the +1A and striking it again - only this time, you automatically hit it (didn't move) with ALL attacks.

Hey! Where'd ... Everybody ... go?
chromedog is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-06-10, 02:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Flame80010's Avatar
Flame80010's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 496
Reputation: 1
Default

@ Chrome

thats not what was asked

he asked if during the enemy assult phase after having attacked a Vehical and it doesnt/couldnt move if an enemy unit can make attacks against the vehicle as they do when fighting other units and walkers
Flame80010 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-06-10, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
MaidenManiac's Avatar
MaidenManiac's Flag is: Sweden
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Borås - Sweden
Posts: 3,063
Reputation: 7
Solkan (and your gaming group) is very correct!
Dabbling/forgetting to move/being immobile/being stunned/sacrificing/whatnot a Vehicle that has models in CC with it will reward it with even more attacks against it during its own Assault phase.

5th ed is the ed of Troopers killing Vehicles in close combat. Take note and send in them Boyz, it will work like a charm every time

Win/Draw/Loss(5th ed results)
EC: 45/2/12
Tau: 28/3/7
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitsandkits View Post
Common sense and wargamers are like oil and water
Quote:
'Alessio is to 40k what impotence is to rape.' - Jezlad
MaidenManiac is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-06-10, 03:16 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 172
Default

Holy crap...that rule is so obvious and cannot be argued. It's right on pg 63 of the small rule book, I never noticed this and never seen anyone at the club play like this, but it is indeed correct.

Kind of a piss off seeing as one of my hardest opponents is a horde/footslogging+biker ork army. So finding this out benefits me none, and him a great ..great deal. eep.
Eric.West is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-07-10, 04:04 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Culler's Avatar
Culler's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,372
Reputation: 1
Default

Wow, that's the darndest thing. Good news for me though, thanks all.
Culler is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome