Can abilities be granted from within transports? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-17-09, 08:21 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Culler's Avatar
Culler's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,372
Reputation: 1
Default Can abilities be granted from within transports?

Say you've got a model that does something for friendly models within a certain distance, such as Straken granting all friendlies within 12" furious charge and counter-attack. If you then put Straken in a Chimera and that Chimera is within 12" of a friendly infantry platoon, does the infantry platoon get counter-attack and furious charge?

One argument against being that the squad isn't within 12" of Straken/whatever model because the model isn't on the board.
Some arguments for is that they can still issue order from within Chimeras and that the model still exists, it's just inside the Chimera. Things like the Ork's Kustom Force Field work within 6" of the vehicle instead of the model when the Big Mek boards a transport lends some credence as well.

Curious to hear your thoughts, ty.
Culler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-17-09, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Iron Angel's Avatar
Iron Angel's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,271
Reputation: 14
Default

No. Models in transports do not confer their bonuses to nearby units. They must be on the field. The KFF works because the special rules for the KFF say it does.

Iron Angel is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-17-09, 09:58 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Culler's Avatar
Culler's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,372
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Angel View Post
The KFF works because the special rules for the KFF say it does.
I'm having trouble finding where it says that in the codex or FAQ.
Culler is offline  
 
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-17-09, 10:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Necrosis's Avatar
Necrosis's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North Delta
Posts: 2,132
Reputation: 5
Default

I disagree Iron Angel. I think the rule still applies. Like the Inquisitor Lord and his mystics. If you put them in a transport then you measure from the hull. They even FAQ it.
Necrosis is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-17-09, 10:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Indeed, Necrosis is right. Abilities are measured from the hull of the vehical you are in. If a Farseer is in a Falcon and wants to cast Doom (no line of sight required) then you measure from the edge of the hull of the Falcon. With Straken you measure from the edge of the Chimera.

Aramoro
Aramoro is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-17-09, 11:14 PM
Senior Member
 
maddermax's Avatar
maddermax's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,976
Reputation: 8
Default

yep, it was last edition when embarked units couldn't use special rules inside a vehicle, in this edition, they can.

P66, under the embarking rules, "if the player needs to measure a range (except for shooting) involving the unit, measure it from the vehicles hull".

So area affects, like KFF, and straken's special rule are all measured from the vehicles hull, as if the vehicle was straken.

Hope that helps

PubHammer Brisbane
It's all in the name.

Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at our friendly club in a pub, Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.

Update:From the 25th of May 2014 we'll be Meeting at The Junction pub in Annerley, opposite Ace Comics and Games Still playing 40k, Warmachine and board games of all sorts!

Last edited by maddermax; 12-17-09 at 11:27 PM.
maddermax is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-18-09, 03:26 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Culler's Avatar
Culler's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,372
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maddermax View Post
P66, under the embarking rules, "if the player needs to measure a range (except for shooting) involving the unit, measure it from the vehicles hull".
Awesome, exactly what I was looking for, thanks all!
Culler is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-18-09, 06:10 AM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Culler View Post
Awesome, exactly what I was looking for, thanks all!
It also further expands that in the general BRB FAQ

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-18-09, 04:16 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Culler's Avatar
Culler's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,372
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragewind View Post
It also further expands that in the general BRB FAQ
I don't often use non-walker vehicles, much less transports with stuff inside that has special abilities, so I must kind of glossed over most of that.
Culler is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-18-09, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Iron Angel's Avatar
Iron Angel's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,271
Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maddermax View Post
yep, it was last edition when embarked units couldn't use special rules inside a vehicle, in this edition, they can.

P66, under the embarking rules, "if the player needs to measure a range (except for shooting) involving the unit, measure it from the vehicles hull".

So area affects, like KFF, and straken's special rule are all measured from the vehicles hull, as if the vehicle was straken.

Hope that helps
Damn you, 5th ed, making all my knowledge obsolete!

Iron Angel is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome