Can abilities be granted from within transports? - Page 3 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-20-09, 07:17 AM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

[QUOTE=Vaz;534003]Just thinking - it actually states (for example), Chapter Banner, that you remove the model from the table? And that models within 12" of the Chapter Banner Bearer model recieve +1 attack. Considering that the model is not actually on the table at all, then surely that doesn't grant the bonuses?[/Q]

You can't affect anything within a transport at all, period. The other way around however is not true.

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-20-09, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Avatar
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,461
Reputation: 1
Default

Actually you can, IIRC a psychic power of a character in the same transport as the target still works.
Wolf_Lord_Skoll is offline  
post #23 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-23-09, 06:53 AM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf_Lord_Skoll View Post
Actually you can, IIRC a psychic power of a character in the same transport as the target still works.
A small technicality nothing more

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
 
post #24 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-23-09, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Avatar
Wolf_Lord_Skoll's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,461
Reputation: 1
Wolf_Lord_Skoll is offline  
post #25 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-23-09, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

[quote=Ragewind;534645]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
Just thinking - it actually states (for example), Chapter Banner, that you remove the model from the table? And that models within 12" of the Chapter Banner Bearer model recieve +1 attack. Considering that the model is not actually on the table at all, then surely that doesn't grant the bonuses?[/Q]

You can't affect anything within a transport at all, period. The other way around however is not true.
Course, maddermax has already quoted the rule that proves you wrong.............

If a unit is in a transport, you measure from the hull for any area of effect, ranges, etc etc, other than shooting. So an IG standard ina transport (it's in the transport, not off the table) would grant any IG units within 12" of the hull any benefits of the standard. It's really that simple.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome