line of sight - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-24-08, 12:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Default line of sight

We had a problem during my last game about line of sight... his unit was in the open maybe 8 inches from a building, mine was hiden in that peleton house and another one was few inches behind it. It was his turn so he moved and was able to see my second unit by one of the window, but barely so he did his test of leadership, passed it and fired.... I tought at that time that he was not aloud to do that because he was seing just a part of 1 figurine out of the hole unit by a window,there was a building in between and if he was alound I would have at least the cover of it... What is the rule about line of sight in that situation and when exactly cover can apply??6 Thanks
Actarus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-24-08, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
dakari-mane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 325
Default

Ruined buildings are normally treated as area terrain with a 4+ cover save. So your opponent could shoot with his entire unit up to 6” into the building and he could target the further unit assuming that he passed his target priority check.

I would advise you to read the sections on Area Terrain & Target Priority from the rulebook.

May is not must.

If in doubt always choose the lesser of two weevils


just freaking do it ok?
dakari-mane is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-24-08, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Deceiver's Avatar
Deceiver's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 538
Reputation: 1
Default

always discuss terrain and these issues before the game. it's the most controversial of the 40k system.
Deceiver is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-24-08, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Lord Sinkoran's Avatar
Lord Sinkoran's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: University of Plymouth
Posts: 3,588
Default

if a model is in cover even if the model isn't phsiccally cover they get a cover save


Violence is never the answer, it is the question, to which the answer is, yes
Lord Sinkoran is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome