multiple fearless units in CC - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-08-09, 10:22 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bogg's Avatar
Bogg's Flag is: Norway
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 615
Reputation: 1
Default multiple fearless units in CC

Squad A and B, who both are fearless charges Unit C, who wins by 6..

Does both squad A and B take 6 armor saves ?


Orks - Salamanders - IG -Tau - Necron - Csm - Nids - Dark Eldar
Bogg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-08-09, 10:43 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Both take 6 saves since the combat res affects both of them equally- its the same case as if both units were not fearless and lost: if they lost by 6 and were Ld 9 originally both units suffer a -ve 6 modifier to their Ld (so down to Ld3) rather then taking a total of 6 to their Ld modifier (which would take them both down to Ld6).

It sounds harsh when looked at for fearless units alone, but it makes sense when you reflect on the standard case.


The moral of the story is that if you are fearless you dont want to be losing combats, especially when you shove lots of units into the same combat (but then losing combat by a significant amount is a damn sight nastier if you arent fearless... unless your marines in which case your super fearless, otherwise known as ATSKNF).

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-08-09, 11:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Inquisitor Einar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,666
Reputation: 1
Default

Losting combat isnt'so bad for guardsmen either.. so you lost say, 10 guardsmen of a mob of 40, you got a commissar, you got LD9, you got stubborn, you got a reroll on leadership.. WAY better than fearless imho ;)

SoBs being LD9 and stubborn also is wonderfull ;)

TKE's NTGU Brigade
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winterous View Post
Einar is right.
Inquisitor Einar is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-09-09, 12:23 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bogg's Avatar
Bogg's Flag is: Norway
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 615
Reputation: 1
Default

so it is probably better for gaunts to charge out of synapse range, so they wont be fearless , and if they loose , only run back to the big ones!


Orks - Salamanders - IG -Tau - Necron - Csm - Nids - Dark Eldar
Bogg is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-09-09, 02:09 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

BRB pg 44, right column, 5th para, 2nd sentence:

Quote:
Instead, these units suffer a number of wounds equal to the number their side has lost the combat by...

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-09-09, 09:25 AM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogg View Post
so it is probably better for gaunts to charge out of synapse range, so they wont be fearless , and if they loose , only run back to the big ones!
well... not really. If you lose with fearless gaunts you are taking a number of wounds equal to how badly you lost (since they kill very little you more or less double the enemies kills), if you lose out of synapse you have a good chance of being run down and killed (uness you are charging orcs/necrons, I2 wont scare an I4 gaunt much).

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-09-09, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
well... not really. If you lose with fearless gaunts you are taking a number of wounds equal to how badly you lost (since they kill very little you more or less double the enemies kills), if you lose out of synapse you have a good chance of being run down and killed (uness you are charging orcs/necrons, I2 wont scare an I4 gaunt much).
With regular Gaunts you ONLY charge if you need to Tarpit, if you WILL win the combat, or if it will result in them taking less wounds than being shot at.
With Hormagaunts, you're mad if you don't take extra initiative, which helps you Sweep and avoid being Sweeped.
Winterous is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome