Do Grey Knight Heroes give their Shrouding Save to Units they join? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 01-06-08, 01:24 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sons of Russ's Avatar
Sons of Russ's Flag is: Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 267
Reputation: 1
Default Do Grey Knight Heroes give their Shrouding Save to Units they join?

EDIT-

sorry guys, finally foudn the answer on p 50 of the BGB

in other words...NO!

"Death-Rattlers" Air Cavalry Mech Tau Strike Force

Heresy-Era Imperial Fist Legion, 19th Company Project Log

Xavier Alkamenes, Assassin-Captain of the 5th Company 'Hoplites'
Shadow Reapers of Corax (Raven Guard Successor Fluff and Army)

Bearer of the Hammer-Blades of Lakonia, He is the Shadow of Death Itself...

Last edited by Sons of Russ; 01-06-08 at 01:43 AM.
Sons of Russ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 01-06-08, 02:24 AM
Inquisitor
 
Bishop120's Avatar
Bishop120's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 963
Reputation: 1
Default

The Aegis, Daemonic Infestation, and Rites of Exorcism can still work for a Hero no matter where he is. But you are correct in that the Shrouding would not transfer as the rules for Shrouding do specify "Grey Knight unit" and the Hero joined to a squad does not make that squad a Grey Knight unit. Though the hero all by himself is a Grey Knight unit.

The Aegis works as it says Grey Knight unit or character. Daemonic Infestation works as its has to do with the mere presence of Grey Knights on the board. Rites of Exorcism works because as in independant character he fights as his own seperate unit and to charge the squad he is with they must also charge him. The wording on RoE states "All Daemons attempting to charge Grey Knights" and not Grey Knight units so it still applies to him. These are unique cases as far as comparing what happens in comparison with USR and the BGB. Specific rules always overide. A rule has to either apply or not apply and cannot be both. In the case of RoE it specifically states that their presence on the board makes it happen and so it has to always be in effect no matter if hes in a unit or not. Remeber that specific rules outweigh global USR restrictions.



"The warrior who acts out of honor cannot fail. His honour is duty itself. Even his death - if it is honourable - is a reward and can be no failure, for it has come through duty. Seek honour as you act, therefore, and you will know no fear."

- Roboute Guilliman
Primarch of the Ultramarines

Last edited by Bishop120; 01-06-08 at 02:31 AM.
Bishop120 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome