Drop Pod hatches - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 09:06 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Zamgek's Avatar
Zamgek's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Forest Grove, Or
Posts: 48
Reputation: 1
Drop Pod hatches

Ok I was told that the hatches on a drop pod don't do a thing measurement wise.... Something about all measuring is done from the hull of the vehicle. When using drop pods I deploy them with the doors down I counted the doors for everything like they couldn't be with in 1 inch of you when I deepstriked in and if a template landed on a door it counted it at full strength... I was then told I was doing it wrong... and that I have to deploy with the doors up if the doors come with in 1 inch you simply lift the models up and put the models on top of the doors, and that just the hull had to be 1 inch away? I looked and couldn't find it in the rule book or faqs.
Zamgek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 09:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Spot The Grot's Avatar
Spot The Grot's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,033
Reputation: 1
Default

Well i'm not sure here but i'ts happened to me before.I let my opponent deploy 2" from the hatches , although this works vice versa as you shoot at the hatches essentially and they would also block movement.

If you deploy them from 2" of the hatch then you will have to live with the fact that the hatches no effectively count as part of a tank ie you can't move through them.

TBH this is just one of those rules your gonna have to talk with your opponent about.If i had to choose i would say that you can deploy 2" from the hatches.
Spot The Grot is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 10:00 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Zamgek's Avatar
Zamgek's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Forest Grove, Or
Posts: 48
Reputation: 1
Default

I only deployed with in 2 inches of the hull ;p i had been using the tactic of making a wall of drop pods to block off objectives which works rather nicely
Zamgek is offline  
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
grim reaper's Avatar
grim reaper's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Market harborough
Posts: 277
Reputation: 5
Default

I was thinking the same thing only last night.

If you moved your opponents model to on top of the door, he would have to have good reactions as donít the hatches blow open, not go down slowly? (Iíve got a picture in my head of an Ork with its legs and arms either side of the ramp, and a rather large splatter of blood) So pods can tank shock almost (Donít flame its only a joke) Personally Iíd agree with you to the doors counting as part of the hull, as its physically part of the pod. But who am I to sayÖ.

"May death come on swift wings for those that choose that path"
grim reaper is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
World Eater XII's Avatar
World Eater XII's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Reading
Posts: 1,908
Reputation: 1
Default

i would deploy 2 inches from the hull tbh.

I dont think space mahreens ride the doors on the way down, they have to get out from the centre, in my eyes anyway.

also if you had 3inch ramps on rhinos would you let your opponent take it from those?

Let the Galaxy Burn.
World Eater XII is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
dakari-mane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 325
Default

Seems a bit too advantageous to be able to place a 12" diameter bit of terrain you can shoot over, walk over, gain cover from & not be assaulted over, all for 35pts.

Oh which incidencally can shoot & contest objectives.

I have never seen the doors used as anything other than walk-overable by both sides.

May is not must.

If in doubt always choose the lesser of two weevils


just freaking do it ok?
dakari-mane is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 10:49 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Zamgek's Avatar
Zamgek's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Forest Grove, Or
Posts: 48
Reputation: 1
Default

;p I wish GW would release a Drop pod FAQ to answer all of this or respond to my rules question emails... although reading the GT stuff they have it so you can choose what doors to have open or close to block line of site....
Zamgek is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 10:59 AM
Senior Member
 
World Eater XII's Avatar
World Eater XII's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Reading
Posts: 1,908
Reputation: 1
Default

im with dakari! its bad enough the pods cant blow up if they scatter onto anything, let alone become some mobile defence because you can flap the doors up n down.

Let the Galaxy Burn.
World Eater XII is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 11:16 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Zamgek's Avatar
Zamgek's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Forest Grove, Or
Posts: 48
Reputation: 1
Default

i think if they suffered from all the ways to have a deepstrike mishap that no one would use em and gw wouldn't be able to sell an awesome well done model... my main question was is how did the doors count... cause there is the gw rule(atleast i think) that you can't move with in 1 inch of a enemy model unless assaulting...
Zamgek is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Sebi's Avatar
Sebi's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 541
Reputation: 1
Default

oh c'mon..... just be serious and reasonable and you have the answer there

the doors are just what they are... flat pieces of iron and no thread to anyone... I know a guy that has builöt his drop pods with moving doors... he places the pod... opens the doors and places all stuff that comes outsied as explained in the RB 2" from the hull of the pod as if the doors would have been closed or just not there.
its thes same with my Ork Pikkup and two ramps built on 8I don't use them but could):
their moveable by the model... so I just drop them and gain 3" additionaly to disambark ... now lets calculate that:
13" drivin (thanks to red paint)
3" from the ramp
2" disembarking
d6 running in shooting face (I may shoot and assault with my pikkup)
6" charge
------
too good!
Sebi is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome