gate of infinity? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-02-09, 06:31 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rokar4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 231
Reputation: 1
Default gate of infinity?

i dont have a codex handy, and i was wondering, does it actually scatter or do you roll just to see if you lose one?








THAT WHICH DOES NOT KILL US, MAKES US STRONGER!
THAT WHICH KILLS US, MAKES US STRONGER!
WE ARE THE RIPPER, THE TEARER, THE SLASHER. WE ARE THE TEETH IN THE DARKNESS, THE DEATH!
WE HUNGER. WE CONSUME. WE DO NOT CEASE!
WELCOME TO THE NIGHTMARE, WELCOME TO THE DEATH, WELCOME TO THE DARKNESS!


-Psychic Scream of Hive Fleet Devourer
rokar4life is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-02-09, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Sqwerlpunk's Avatar
Sqwerlpunk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nebraska, U.S.A.
Posts: 899
Reputation: 1
Default

It scatters, full Deep Strike rules.

Has the Infiltrate USR {NTGU}
>>Sqwerl's Tactical Squads<<

Sqwerlpunk is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-02-09, 07:27 AM
Senior Member
 
killmaimburn's Avatar
killmaimburn's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 854
Reputation: 1
Default

Including NOT scattering when within range of a locator beacon...

killmaimburn is offline  
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-05-09, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killmaimburn View Post
Including NOT scattering when within range of a locator beacon...
Although I'm pretty sure you still roll the 2D6, and if you get a double, you lose a model.
Winterous is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-05-09, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16
Default

pg. 57, SM Codex. "If the deep strike attempt scatters, and a double is rolled..."

pg. 67 "If a unit wishes to arrive on the battlefield via deep strike and chooses to do so within 6" of a model carrying a locator beacon, then it won't scatter"

No danger of losing a model if you use a locator beacon.
Creon is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-05-09, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creon View Post
pg. 57, SM Codex. "If the deep strike attempt scatters, and a double is rolled..."

pg. 67 "If a unit wishes to arrive on the battlefield via deep strike and chooses to do so within 6" of a model carrying a locator beacon, then it won't scatter"

No danger of losing a model if you use a locator beacon.
Oh, that's very clear then.
Someone just said it a while ago, and I never really checked.

Anyway, what I find to be quite interesting about this power.
One time I used it, and scattered onto an enemy model (he was alone at the time), rolled a 'delayed' result on the mishap table, and went back into reserves as a deep striking unit.
Without the deep strike rule!

I know it's all logical and stuff, but it just seems a bit strange.
He got lost, and had to ask directions in the Warp
Winterous is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-05-09, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Desolatemm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,195
Reputation: 2
Default

When is this power used? durring any point of the movement phase or Before?

That would be awesome to have a full unit of teminators and a librarian teleport via homing becon on a squad of scout bikes that are already acrossed the board turn 1. Hell, if its possible do this to two units of termies. Would get you acrossed the board 1st or 2nd turn with no issue of reserve roles. Out of the box way to play it if its possible.

"Bide your time and hold out hope"
-The Count of Monte Cristo
Desolatemm is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-05-09, 11:34 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

It is used at the beginning of the Movement phase. So no swooping around and dropping Termies off for you! lol

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-05-09, 11:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Desolatemm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,195
Reputation: 2
Default

So you can turbo boost scout move with the bikes then use GoI at the start of your turn at the beginning of your movement. I don't see how that can't be done lol.

"Bide your time and hold out hope"
-The Count of Monte Cristo
Desolatemm is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-06-09, 03:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desolatemm View Post
So you can turbo boost scout move with the bikes then use GoI at the start of your turn at the beginning of your movement. I don't see how that can't be done lol.
THAT can be done.
I'm quite sure it's a very effective strategy too; especially against mechanised armies.

Two units of 10 Terminators with a Librarian in each jump 24" to right in front of the enemy = Lots of death on turn 1, and 2 Avengers placed right on their delicious squishy armourless MEQs.

You'd be able to basically destroy two units on turn 1, even if they don't die they're very likely to run off the board.
Then you've got the big guns falling in behind, Predators Destructors blasting their vehicles away; they'll be too busy with the Terminators to do anything about them.

You'll have an EXTREMELY low model count, but it'd certainly be fun to play!
Winterous is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome