Swooping Hawk Headaches - Page 3 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-25-07, 10:58 PM
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29

um how?

i didnt know jetbikes could strike an ordnance template almost every turn and be invulnerable the whole game? its not just that the hawks come in late. its that they actually get to do stuff the whole game AND get to come in and wait. YOU CANT KILL THEM. you could easily drop and basilisk on that squad of jetbikes and destroy them.
TheEmperor'sChampion is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #22 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-26-07, 07:25 AM
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 801

Yeah, but I didn't say that. I said Jetbikes are better quarterbastards.
uberschveinen is offline  
post #23 of 25 (permalink) Old 01-26-07, 04:51 PM
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29

well i dont know, and immortal unit that costs about the same and can end up anywhere? thats some hardcore $4!7. im sure theyll put in an faq you cant use skyleap when you just ds. although gw wants to sell minis and having a unit this amazing is appealing.
TheEmperor'sChampion is offline  
post #24 of 25 (permalink) Old 11-28-07, 08:52 AM
AntiPaladin's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 84

... And again, since this idea does not die...

Deep Strike - "Troops arriving via deep strike may not move or assault on the turn they arrive. They may shoot as normal, but count as having moved."

Skyleap - "The player may elect to remove a unit with skyleap from the table in its movement phase..."

To use skyleap you must engage the ability during the UNITS movement phase, not your armies, as it states clearly. If it was referring to the Eldar players movement phase it would have said "during the Eldar movement phase" or "during the controlling players movement phase." Instead it uses the possesive adjective form of "is" to denote the individial unit.

Deep strike says plainly that a unit arriving that way counts as having moved ie using its movement phase.

The only way to suggest that they can do both is to say that even if a unit has fufilled the conditions of a given action is still doesn't count as having done so unless it accomplished something related to the action, "Even though it counts as having moved, it still gets to act in its movement phase because it didn't actually cover any distance on the table." Taking this idea further we get "The unit fired during the shooting phase, but because it didn't hit anything, it didn't fufill the purpose of the shooting phase, so it doesn't count as having shot and I get my bonus attacks in assault."
AntiPaladin is offline  
post #25 of 25 (permalink) Old 11-28-07, 01:42 PM
Bishop120's Avatar
Bishop120's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 963
Reputation: 1

Just a note.. they are not untouchable. With Deamonhunter Inquistor lord and mystics its possible to take shots at units which enter via Deepstrike or summoning within 4D6 inches of them. If there are 2 mystics they can nominate another unit within 6 inches of them to take this free shot. This shot happens during the movement phase outside normal shooting rules and the unit shooting always counts as stationary.

Just try to use them Yo-Yo Hawks against me..

"The warrior who acts out of honor cannot fail. His honour is duty itself. Even his death - if it is honourable - is a reward and can be no failure, for it has come through duty. Seek honour as you act, therefore, and you will know no fear."

- Roboute Guilliman
Primarch of the Ultramarines

Last edited by Bishop120; 11-28-07 at 01:44 PM.
Bishop120 is offline  

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome