What happens when a weirdboy goes to ground? - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-24-09, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Inquisitor Einar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,666
Reputation: 1
Default

I'm with Steve on this.

Basicly, because a weirdboy MUST use his powers, he is not allowed to go to ground.
Being pinned isn't an optional action, and prevents people from doing things. So if he's 'gone to ground' because he's pinned, he can't use his powers.

To make a similar reference: if a WH priest is included in a unit, this unit MUST assault in the assault phase, this means that if it's in assault range during the shooting phase, they may not fire rapid fire weapons because this would mean they cannot assault, however, if this unit is pinned, they can't assault because they are pinned, it would be non-sensical for them to be able to suddenly assault while being pinned, while they are not allowed to, however, if a unit would be within 6" of them when shot at, they would not be able to go to ground, because this would preclude them from assaulting in the following turn.

TKE's NTGU Brigade
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winterous View Post
Einar is right.
Inquisitor Einar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-24-09, 10:58 AM
Banned
 
Blue Liger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,023
Default

Agree with above if he's pinned by an outside force that's fine and therefore stops him dead in his tracks from being able to use his powers (one way an opponent can counter attack his ability), but you cannot go about your turn completely denying the fact that he must do this.

Though on the other hand you go to ground in your opponents turn so therefore I would say he can but won't be able to use his ability's as the rules state they may not do anything in the next turn.
Blue Liger is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-24-09, 07:13 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Yeah, TBH I thought I was pushing it with the whole not go-to-ground thing as I wrote it... I think it may mean that with strict interp of the rules but I would never stop a weirdboy or a WH priest from choosing to gtg (though I dont play proper tournaments.. at least not yet).

Tim/Steve is offline  
 
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-27-10, 12:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cambridgeshire
Posts: 466
Reputation: 1
Default

hmm this one looks fun but the fact remains he STILL rolls on the table and gets thus chosen power but the fact of the matter is if its a shooting attack it counts as if you were in assualt (frazzle and zzap become power weapon attacks)

well you say they cant assualt the unit can still be assualted

i would also imagine if you teleport they will still teleport and perhaps remain pinned? just in a new position.

so summary is you still roll on the chart but a 1, 2, 3 roll counts as a power weapon for that turn

hope thats clear enough and helps in any way ...?
cazmac is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome