Ork trukk encased in tactical squad - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-16-09, 05:30 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Lucus009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 70
Reputation: 1
Default Ork trukk encased in tactical squad

I was in the 'Ard boyz and a something vary odd came up, an Ork trukk became encased by a SM tactical squad. What happened was the player I was playing against sent two squads and had them encircle and assault the trukk, one at a time. The first squad managed to keep the darn vehicle there and made it so I had to stay there and roast the squad (burna' boyz ftw). Then when his turn begin again he did the same thing but managed to destroy it. Now at that point I was supposed to roll on the special chart in the Ork book, and I rolled the spin and go 3D6 in a random direction. Here is what he said would happen: "Since the trukk isn't a tank it cannot make his tac squad move out the way so the evacuating orks would be automatically destroyed." Now once I got to thinking about it I would of thought they would get up on top of the Trukk and take the wounds for the vehicle exploding. Am I right or is there a rule I'm missing.


Those who ask questions only train themselves in asking questions
Lucus009 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-16-09, 05:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Crimson_Chin's Avatar
Crimson_Chin's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 541
Reputation: 1
Default

Er.

I think, unless I'm missing something here, that the ork boys couldn't disembark? And their vehicle would've normally gone flying.

If it doesn't say you can go through other units in the ork rulebook, you can't. I'm not familiar with it, but i think they're destroyed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella Cadente View Post
shocking, they do exactly what the codex says they do, who would of thought
lol.

WIP Thread
Crimson_Chin is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-16-09, 05:45 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Lucus009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 70
Reputation: 1
Default

Ya, I just looked it up. they were dead


Those who ask questions only train themselves in asking questions
Lucus009 is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-16-09, 12:31 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

"Kareen" specifically states that you stop 1" away from the enemy, so the Trukk could not move at all. Since it also says they are forced to disembark, they would all be dead.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-16-09, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Lash Machine's Avatar
Lash Machine's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 537
Reputation: 1
Default

Unless the vehicle exploded, they would all be dead.

I was checking the rule book recently under emergancy disembarkation and it stated that models which can't be placed further than an inch from enemy models are destroyed, not the the unit being destroyed as in the prevoius edition.
Lash Machine is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-16-09, 07:29 PM
Senior Member
 
davespil's Avatar
davespil's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Stuck in texas
Posts: 853
Reputation: 2
Default

Thats why you always take reinforced ram. It lets you tank shock and you could have escaped the first round. It also lets you re-roll failed terrain tests and your front armor will count as 12 not 10 in Death or Glory. If the vehicle exploded then they all wouldn't be dead, they would all take Str 3 hits, though if they had the 'ard case upgrade it would be str 4. But if it explodes you can see if it killed any Marines. If it did then that might give you room to put down surviving orks.

Last edited by davespil; 07-16-09 at 07:31 PM.
davespil is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-16-09, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16
Default

In this vein, can someone show me where in the book Emergency Disembarking is? I can't find it.
Creon is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-16-09, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Sqwerlpunk's Avatar
Sqwerlpunk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nebraska, U.S.A.
Posts: 899
Reputation: 1
Default

First paragraph, pg. 67, second half of the paragraph. Sorta buried and hard to find.

Has the Infiltrate USR {NTGU}
>>Sqwerl's Tactical Squads<<

Sqwerlpunk is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-16-09, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16
Default

Thanks, i knew I'd seen it, just couldn't find it again.
Creon is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-17-09, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
Macrocalculator's Flag is: Netherlands
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 129
Reputation: 5
Default

Just out of curiosity, but as an open topped vehicle you can disembark your troop within anywhere within 2 inch of the vehicle, wouldn't that give you ample space to disembark your orks behind the marines encircling the trukk? As you can happily disembark and assault from an open-topped vehicle you could even assault one of the tactical squads after that. (I'm refering to the brb, p. 70 Open-topped transport vehicles).
Macrocalculator is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome