Dealing of Attacks in Multi-Unit Combats - Page 4 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #31 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-23-09, 11:06 PM
I Piss in your Cheerios
 
TheKingElessar's Avatar
TheKingElessar's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 7,370
Reputation: 2
Default

Yeah, I noticed that yesterday, but forgot to post it, d'oh! +Rep for providing definitive answer.
TheKingElessar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-24-09, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
the cabbage's Avatar
the cabbage's Flag is: Scotland
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,717
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson_Chin View Post
Anyway, in response to the Cabbage - read asian avatars post, or my post from the first page. There is a clear reason for including the rule - mixed initiative combat. I used an IC in my example, but it could just as easily be a squad member with a higher initiative.

Basically, the rule states that you are locked into fighting whomever you were in base contact with before blows were struck. As my post from page 1 shows, if you are in B2B with an enemy, but that enemy was eliminated (and you are no longer in base contact with any others) you CANNOT allocate your attacks as per the 2" rule if they are going to a different unit than you were originally in B2B with.

This can and will come up whenever you have mixed initiative combat (SM terminator squad, Eldar squad with an exarch, or any two squads with differing I attacking someone else).

It was explained clearly several times, there shouldn't be any contention at this point.
Hey dude been away for a day or so. I read all of the thread several times hence my ears bleeding.

My point was that the rules discussed up until my post said no such thing. The errata posted later says exactly that but the BRB does not. I tried to explain above the rules for engaged. Basically B2B or 2".

To use your example of a character. Before the errata a terminator with a PF in base to base can attack any models, still alive, with which he was engaged. B2B was not mentioned at all and was therefore irrelevant. At the points myself and then you posted this, and in fact for all time, the first bullet point says absolutely no such thing

The new bullet point in the errata covers your points exactly and makes the discussion this became pointless. But the first bullet point is still a waste of ink which adds nothing but confirmation to earlier rules.

It was explained clearly by some posters, clearly and incorrectly
the cabbage is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome