Dealing of Attacks in Multi-Unit Combats - Page 3 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-21-09, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Crimson_Chin's Avatar
Crimson_Chin's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 541
Reputation: 1
Default

LOL, I was thinking the same thing (in regard to charge distance).

Anyway, in response to the Cabbage - read asian avatars post, or my post from the first page. There is a clear reason for including the rule - mixed initiative combat. I used an IC in my example, but it could just as easily be a squad member with a higher initiative.

Basically, the rule states that you are locked into fighting whomever you were in base contact with before blows were struck. As my post from page 1 shows, if you are in B2B with an enemy, but that enemy was eliminated (and you are no longer in base contact with any others) you CANNOT allocate your attacks as per the 2" rule if they are going to a different unit than you were originally in B2B with.

This can and will come up whenever you have mixed initiative combat (SM terminator squad, Eldar squad with an exarch, or any two squads with differing I attacking someone else).

It was explained clearly several times, there shouldn't be any contention at this point.
Crimson_Chin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-21-09, 05:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Gunstar's Avatar
Gunstar's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Epsom, Surrey
Posts: 218
Reputation: 1
Default

PMT and crimson_chin have it down and with the exception of the point made above by elessar. This is not that hard a rules query to answer. Crimson's point about IC's is really important here.

As far as the OP goes- you had it right my friend, and PMT's post above will help you clarify that. And like crimson says, there really shouldn't be any doubt at this point.

War and mayhem to you all!

Last edited by Gunstar; 06-21-09 at 05:03 PM.
Gunstar is offline  
post #23 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-21-09, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Pirate Metal Troy's Avatar
Pirate Metal Troy's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 630
Reputation: 1
Default

Crimson has it as well. If your opponent disappears, you have no one left to fight...you decide and declare who you will attack, then roll dice in initiative order.

Definite props for bringing that up crimson.

Thousand Sons: 5W - 2L - 0T
Emperor's Children: 7W - 1L - 1T
Necrons: 1W - 2L - 1T
Salamanders: 3W - 1L - 1T
Pirate Metal Troy is offline  
 
post #24 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-21-09, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Sqwerlpunk's Avatar
Sqwerlpunk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nebraska, U.S.A.
Posts: 899
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate Metal Troy View Post
If we take a look at the numbered khorne berzerkers in the picture we can see this.

Berzerker 1 - base contact with tsons (He must attack them)
Berserker 2 - Base contact with tsons (he must attack them)
Berserker 3 - Base contact with tsons (he must attack them)
Berserker 4 - Base contact with both units. (he may choose which unit to attack)
Berserker 5 - Base Contact with both units. (he may choose which unit to attack)
You know, I think the implication this rule was going for was to make it so that the models in base to base with both had to attack their original opponents, even though that doesn't really come across in translation.

Awesome post and pictures.

Has the Infiltrate USR {NTGU}
>>Sqwerl's Tactical Squads<<

Sqwerlpunk is offline  
post #25 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-21-09, 07:37 PM
Grey Knight Converter
 
asianavatar's Avatar
asianavatar's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,169
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Berzerker 1 - base contact with tsons (He must attack them)
Berserker 2 - Base contact with tsons (he must attack them)
Berserker 3 - Base contact with tsons (he must attack them)
Berserker 4 - Base contact with both units. (he may choose which unit to attack)
Berserker 5 - Base Contact with both units. (he may choose which unit to attack)
Only comment about the above is that Berserker 2 and 3 might be able to attack the terminators because they are within two inches of an model in their unit who is in b2b with an enemy (Berserker 4 and 5). Other than that, the example is a pretty good one.

I used to roll the dice, Feel the fear in my enemy's eyes

Quote:
I'm afraid there's no authoritative source for thinking you're an asshole
Aramoro
asianavatar is offline  
post #26 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-21-09, 10:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Winterous's Avatar
Winterous's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 6,851
Reputation: 2
Default

You got it exactly right Troy, and nice idea with the photos.
I really can't understand how this has gone on 3 pages, it should have been a 1 post answer, it's a very simple rule.

Anyway, the one thing I have to comment that you did wrong there, Troy, is that the closest assaulting model has to make contact with the closest enemy model.
The first Terminator has to assault the first Berzerker, although I'm not really sure which one is closer.
Other than that, fine.
Winterous is offline  
post #27 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-22-09, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Gunstar's Avatar
Gunstar's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Epsom, Surrey
Posts: 218
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winterous View Post
You got it exactly right Troy, and nice idea with the photos.
I really can't understand how this has gone on 3 pages, it should have been a 1 post answer, it's a very simple rule.

Anyway, the one thing I have to comment that you did wrong there, Troy, is that the closest assaulting model has to make contact with the closest enemy model.
The first Terminator has to assault the first Berzerker, although I'm not really sure which one is closer.
Other than that, fine.
Which is exactly what elessar already said... ;)
Gunstar is offline  
post #28 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-22-09, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Sqwerlpunk's Avatar
Sqwerlpunk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nebraska, U.S.A.
Posts: 899
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asianavatar View Post
Only comment about the above is that Berserker 2 and 3 might be able to attack the terminators because they are within two inches of an model in their unit who is in b2b with an enemy (Berserker 4 and 5). Other than that, the example is a pretty good one.
No, they're in base to base with something, if you have base to base you MUST attack a model in base to base.

Has the Infiltrate USR {NTGU}
>>Sqwerl's Tactical Squads<<

Sqwerlpunk is offline  
post #29 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-22-09, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 532
Reputation: 1
Default

Sqwerlpunk has it right. B2B in multiple unit combat overrides within 2" for allocation of attacks.
Pauly55 is offline  
post #30 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-23-09, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Didn't see this posted, but GW has put out an erratta on this:

Page 41 – Multiple Combats, Attacking.
A third bullet point should be added, as follows:
• Models that at the beginning of the combat
(before any model attacked) were engaged with
more than one enemy unit, but were in base
contact with just one of the enemy units, must
attack that unit.

Key point here is that they clarify the timing, and just as has been posted by several here, beginning of combat means before attacking...............
So OP right, new 'friends' wrong

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome