blood angel drop pods - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-27-09, 11:38 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
kentner's Avatar
kentner's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1
blood angel drop pods

Reading the rules, i think i know why ours cost more.

1. All/any pods can either enter first turn or be held in reserve.

2. We don't have to disembark, mobile bunkers anyone? *edit ( was looking at old codex and not possible with newer codex.) *

take pods rather than jet packs, pick to go second. Drop your whole army( don't forget corbs or dante) to cut his into bite sized pieces. Shoot from pod, counts as open top. Sit in your 12 armored bunker and let him shoot.

turn two you are free to move, shoot, and assualt. Using corb and dantes furious charge and preferred enemy rules you should do well.

what do you think?

Tyranid battle saying: "Grrrrrr, Hiss, Grrrr, Drool, Grrr..."

Last edited by kentner; 05-28-09 at 02:53 AM.
kentner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-27-09, 12:11 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Where are the rules for their Drop Pods? I don't see anything at all besides their armylist entry.

Going by just that, they cannot Deep Strike! Have fun with that!

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-27-09, 12:14 PM
Senior Member
 
timsmith's Avatar
timsmith's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 193
Reputation: 1
Default

I think you may have misread the rules....

You must disembark once the drop pod hits. This is clearly stated in the drop pod section on pg25 of the blood angels new codex under dedicated transport. Also i dont believe you are able to use ANY/ALL drop pods on the first turn? where does it say any or all??

The reason everything costs more is because you gain free models in the form of death company.
hope this clarifies a few things for you

***Damm Ninja's***

Last edited by timsmith; 05-27-09 at 12:17 PM.
timsmith is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-27-09, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
timsmith's Avatar
timsmith's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 193
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
Where are the rules for their Drop Pods? I don't see anything at all besides their armylist entry.

Going by just that, they cannot Deep Strike! Have fun with that!
It says internal guidence system which is in the wargear explanation bit and it states:
Inertial Guidance System: Fitted to Drop Pods. The
Drop Pod and the unit it carries may always be placed
in Reserve and enter play per the Deep Strike rules.
timsmith is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-27-09, 12:20 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
kentner's Avatar
kentner's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1
Default

there are many things we don't have, transport exits, but under wargear inertial guidance they can deepstrike. ;)

Tyranid battle saying: "Grrrrrr, Hiss, Grrrr, Drool, Grrr..."
kentner is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-27-09, 12:20 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

To be clear, TS, it's on pg 26.

Quote:
It says internal guidence system which is in the wargear explanation bit and it states:
Inertial Guidance System: Fitted to Drop Pods. The
Drop Pod and the unit it carries may always be placed
in Reserve and enter play per the Deep Strike rules.
Ahhhh... how stupid.

Stupid half-assed codex!

Strange, but not a Stranger.

Last edited by DeathKlokk; 05-27-09 at 12:22 PM.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-27-09, 12:32 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
kentner's Avatar
kentner's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timsmith View Post
It says internal guidence system which is in the wargear explanation bit and it states:
Inertial Guidance System: Fitted to Drop Pods. The
Drop Pod and the unit it carries may always be placed
in Reserve and enter play per the Deep Strike rules.
it says may be placed in reserve not has to be, so you can choose.

my codex says nothing about disembarking. I need to get newer version if yours covers this.

Tyranid battle saying: "Grrrrrr, Hiss, Grrrr, Drool, Grrr..."
kentner is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-27-09, 12:46 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kentner View Post
it says may be placed in reserve not has to be, so you can choose.

my codex says nothing about disembarking. I need to get newer version if yours covers this.

They have to be placed in Reserve to Deep Strike though. I guess you could set them up with your army, but you'd have to immediately disembark/ setup outside of it.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-27-09, 12:54 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
kentner's Avatar
kentner's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1
Default

poorly written codex, i guess that's why it's free.

Tyranid battle saying: "Grrrrrr, Hiss, Grrrr, Drool, Grrr..."
kentner is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-27-09, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Special Rules (page 25)
• Inertial Guidance System
• Immobile: A Drop Pod may not move
once it has entered the battle, and counts
in all respects as a vehicle that has
suffered an Immobilised damage result
(which cannot be repaired).
• After the Drop Pod lands, all passengers
must immediately disembark (they may
not assault that turn). No models can
embark on it for the rest of the game.

page 5:
Inertial Guidance System: Fitted to Drop Pods. The
Drop Pod and the unit it carries may always be placed
in Reserve and enter play per the Deep Strike rules.
May reduce the scatter distance by the minimum
required to avoid landing in impassable terrain or on
top of another model.

Newest version of the pdf is available in the GW FAQ area.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome