drop pods with grey knights? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-16-09, 08:14 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1
Default drop pods with grey knights?

ok i know i can take a rhino as a dedicated transport for a group of marines then have the marines walk on the field and put the rhino in reserve with a group of grey knights in it.
So could i do the same thing with a drop pod? have the marines walk onto the field then leave the pod in reserve (like it has to be) and have Grey knights in it?
aznul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-16-09, 08:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Cato Sicarius's Avatar
Cato Sicarius's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,453
Reputation: 2
Default

It's not in the Codex, so no you can't.
Cato Sicarius is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-16-09, 09:33 PM
Member
 
kentner's Avatar
kentner's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1
Default

And i don't believe any squad but the one that bought a dedicated transport can be deployed in it. See page 67, dedicated transports box. "..only limitation ... when deployed it can only carry the unit it was selected with...". You can always buy a transport normally and put anyone in though. But it will take a FOC.

Tyranid battle saying: "Grrrrrr, Hiss, Grrrr, Drool, Grrr..."
kentner is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-16-09, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
BrotherYorei's Avatar
BrotherYorei's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 181
Reputation: 1
Default

moot point as the grey knights do not have access to drop pods

check out my new blog. more forthcoming.
www.brotheryorei.blogspot.com
BrotherYorei is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-16-09, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Cato Sicarius's Avatar
Cato Sicarius's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,453
Reputation: 2
Default

And also: you cannot get in a Drop Pod and use it once it's on the field.
Cato Sicarius is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-16-09, 10:55 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1
Default

Sorry, let me point out one thing. The main force would be SM. With allied Deamonhunters: Grey Knights. So i could take the drop pods, and in the main rule book pg 67 it said a dedicated transport can only carry the unit it was selected with when it's deployed, but after the game begins it can then transport any friendly infantry unit.


however after reading it out load and thinking about it, no i dont think i can do it.
aznul is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome