The cost of using Snikrot - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-21-09, 09:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Son of mortarion's Avatar
Son of mortarion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Running a dark mechanicus forgeworld somewhere in the warp
Posts: 2,069
Reputation: 1
Default

The maximum squad size is 15, snikrot doesn't change that. You could only go larger with an independent character.

check out the entropic reaper or remain a vagrant on the sidewalk of life.
[http://entropomancer.blogspot.com/
Son of mortarion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-22-09, 12:36 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Culler's Avatar
Culler's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,372
Reputation: 1
Default

Well, with this much confusion over the issue I at least feel validated in asking the question.
Culler is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-22-09, 01:30 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

I'd say 15 is the max size, although it could be argued the list says "15 Kommandos".

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
 
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-22-09, 01:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Son of mortarion's Avatar
Son of mortarion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Running a dark mechanicus forgeworld somewhere in the warp
Posts: 2,069
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
I'd say 15 is the max size, although it could be argued the list says "15 Kommandos".
true,but that line of reasoning could also allow 15 kommandos plus 1 nob( total 16), since the nob is a "nob" and not a "kommando." It is more reasonable to assume that, since the nob does not add a 16th ork, and snikrot replaces the nob ( and does not have any rules that allow him to add one more ork), that snikrot also does not add another, leaving the total at 15. it would also be reasonable to assume that despite not being listed as a "kommando," he still is a "kommando," since he is a special character for kommando mobs.

check out the entropic reaper or remain a vagrant on the sidewalk of life.
[http://entropomancer.blogspot.com/
Son of mortarion is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-22-09, 02:17 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

AS I said, "it could be argued". He doesn't replace a Nob, he's "instead of" a Nob which means there wasn't a Nob to begin with, as "replace" suggests.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-22-09, 11:30 AM
Senior Member
Macrocalculator's Flag is: Netherlands
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 129
Reputation: 5
Default

The listing states "One Kommando may be upgraded to Nob +10 points".
So that would cap the unit at a max of 15 as you upgrade one of the 5-15 kommandos.
For Snikrot the exact wording in the list is:
"Instead of a Nob, one mob may be led by: - Boss Snikrot (see page 62).... 85 points"
So instead of upgrading a kommando to a Nob, you but Snikrot (there is no + in front of his points cost, so it is 85 not 85+10).
I would say you still cap of at 15 as you are still replacing the option of a regular commando with Snikrot (just as you do when you take a nob).

For people reading along page 99 of the latest Ork Codex.
Macrocalculator is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 04-22-09, 08:21 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Culler's Avatar
Culler's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,372
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macrocalculator View Post
The listing states "One Kommando may be upgraded to Nob +10 points".
So that would cap the unit at a max of 15 as you upgrade one of the 5-15 kommandos.
For Snikrot the exact wording in the list is:
"Instead of a Nob, one mob may be led by: - Boss Snikrot (see page 62).... 85 points"
So instead of upgrading a kommando to a Nob, you but Snikrot (there is no + in front of his points cost, so it is 85 not 85+10).
I would say you still cap of at 15 as you are still replacing the option of a regular commando with Snikrot (just as you do when you take a nob).

For people reading along page 99 of the latest Ork Codex.
Pretty sound reasoning if you ask me. Looks like I've been doing ti right. Thanks!
Culler is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome