Grenades - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-06-09, 05:43 AM Thread Starter
Lord of Fenris's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Reputation: 1
Default Grenades

I had a quick question. I'm fairly new to the 5th edition of Warhammer 40K, and I actually haven't played a game in a long damn time. (I usually do painting and modeling, mostly.)

I was wondering, from the experienced players, when are you allowed to actually use grenades that squads have? Like, you know, the frag and krak grenades. I recall something about you had to be within 8" or something of a target unit to throw a grenade, during the shooting phase. (Probably from the oldish 2nd edition, which is the last one I remember playing) From what I read from the 5th Edition rulebook, you throw them right before charging in an assault, both sides or something. Could someone elaborate on this for me? I'm having trouble making some sense out of it.
Lord of Fenris is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-06-09, 05:49 AM
Senior Member
keytag33's Avatar
keytag33's Flag is: Canada
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 415
Reputation: 1

2nd edtion was the last time you could though grenades(I miss that rule). Pg 36 of the BRB covers greandes.

Virtutis gloria merces

The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair. - Douglas Adams

It's a knife for gods sake, what you been useing to keep your fork company all these years, sharp side, blunt side, what you want a lesson? - Bullet Tooth Tony
keytag33 is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-06-09, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
Inquisitor Einar's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,666
Reputation: 1

Grenades aren't actual throwing weapons anymore. There's basicly three kinds of grenades, Defensive, Offensive and Anti-Tank.
Offensive grenades ( frag grenades etc. ) are used when you assault a unit in difficult terrain, the only thing this does is negate the penalties for assaulting a unit in difficult terrain. Normally if you do so, your initiative is reduced to 1.
Defensive grenades ( Blight grenades etc. ) are used when you are assaulted by an enemy unit. This denies the enemy the bonus for assaulting ( +1 attack, furious charge etc. )
Lastly, Anti-Tank grenades can be used when assaulting a vehicle. This allows units that normally don't have the strength to hurt a tank ( eg. IG ) to blow it up by sticking a grenade onto it. Instead of their normal attacks, a model equipped with anti-tank grenades makes 1 attack against the tank ( note: when assaulting a non-walker or immobilized walker, you attack the REAR armour ), depending on howfar it moved before you auto hit ( when it was stationary ), hit on 4+ ( it moved up to 6" ) or 6+ ( it moved 12" or more ). If you are assaulting a walker, things get a bit more complicated, read the BRB on these guys.
In the BRB it states the strength of various grenades and their armour penetration bonuses.

TKE's NTGU Brigade
Originally Posted by Winterous View Post
Einar is right.
Inquisitor Einar is offline  
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-06-09, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
maddermax's Avatar
maddermax's Flag is: Australia
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,976
Reputation: 8

Inquisitor Einar has it all good, except that you never strike against a walkers rear armour in close combat, even if it's been immobilised. If you immobilise a walker, it just means that grenades used against them hit as a normal hit (comparing WS to WS) rather than hitting on a 6 (and the walker loses an attack).

PubHammer Brisbane
It's all in the name.

Looking for a club in Brisbane, Australia? Come and enjoy a game and a beer at our friendly club in a pub, Sunday nights from 6:30. All brisbanites welcome, don't wait, check out our Club Page on Facebook for details or to organize a game. We play all sorts of board and war games, so hit us up if you're interested.

Update:From the 25th of May 2014 we'll be Meeting at The Junction pub in Annerley, opposite Ace Comics and Games Still playing 40k, Warmachine and board games of all sorts!
maddermax is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-06-09, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
Inquisitor Einar's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,666
Reputation: 1

Sorry.. I always get confused with those things.. really should learn how they work and get it right before I field 9 penitent engines.

TKE's NTGU Brigade
Originally Posted by Winterous View Post
Einar is right.
Inquisitor Einar is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-07-09, 02:04 AM
Senior Member
Mud213's Avatar
Mud213's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 224
Reputation: 1

This is slightly off topic but I didn't want to start a new tread about it: Do melta bombs get a bonus 1 to damage table results? Now it does say melta in the name which makes you think it might, but it doesn't say anything like that on page 36. Lately my friends have been doing it and I'm not so sure that it works. It doesn't say anything about counting as AP1 since grenades don't have an AP value (this is the only reason that an AP value would matter for them anyway).

I guess we could just make it a houserule or something, but I don't think they should get a +1 on the damage table.
Mud213 is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-07-09, 02:11 AM
Senior Moderator
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20

They do not as AP has no place in close combat (unless you're Uriel).

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 01:51 AM
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17

I am new to the 5th edition, and I still don't understand grenades (although the description from Inquisitor Einar makes a little more sense that the rule book).

I understand that grenades do not have a range, they are simply thrown prior to an assault.

I understand the effects of both offensive and defensive grenades.

I do not understand the To Hit.
1. Does the character throwing the grenade us WS or BS?
2. Do frag and smoke, etc. grenades have a blast radius?
3. Do grenades use scatter dice?

I don't understand the logic of situations which grenades can be thrown?
1. If a defensive grenade can be thrown in a clear area, why can't an offensive grenade be used when defending against an assault? (It seems absurd that frag grenades can only be thrown in bushes but not in a desert.)
2. If there is time to throw a grenade in defense, isn't there enough time to throw an offensive grenade in its place?
2. Can an a krak grenade be thrown at an infantry unit?

Lastly, from reading these forums it appears that grenades are considered to have an Initiative of 10. Is that true?
Rogue Gamer is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 03:00 AM
Senior Member
Sqwerlpunk's Avatar
Sqwerlpunk's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nebraska, U.S.A.
Posts: 899
Reputation: 1

Grenades aren't actually an attack, or anything. Treat them literally as a USR or other Special Rule. Assault Grenades are basically a USR/Equipment that allows you to strike at Initiative through cover, it is automatic, and no notice need be taken aside from, "They have frags, they hit at normal initiative."

Defensive Grenades are much the same, except they cause the assaulting unit to lose it's +1A for assaulting, that's it. No hitting, no nothing, it just counts as that.

Krak Grenades and Melta Bombs can only be used on vehicles, and follow different rules.

Has the Infiltrate USR {NTGU}
>>Sqwerl's Tactical Squads<<

Sqwerlpunk is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-07-09, 03:18 AM
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17

I think I get it, it's a little more abstract than I am used to with Warhammer. It's very different than the old rules.

It just bugs me because a frag grenades seem like they could provide at least some form of a distraction to be used defensively. Ugh, I guess I just don't like the new rules for grenades
Rogue Gamer is offline  

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome