can you use psychic powers whilst fleeing? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-02-07, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lord Sinkoran's Avatar
Lord Sinkoran's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: University of Plymouth
Posts: 3,588
Default can you use psychic powers whilst fleeing?

My friends were battling with out me and the above question came up

and I cant find it anywhere in the rule bookso anyone know?


Violence is never the answer, it is the question, to which the answer is, yes
Lord Sinkoran is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-02-07, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
jigplums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,602
Reputation: 5
Default

NO. I dont have the rulebook on me to give you a page quote, but i know this is true. Even if its a "counts as shooting" power.

Check out my gamer Blog
http://gamergeekery.blogspot.co.uk/2...rs-in-40k.html

Jezlad "I actually commented that Jigplums list was the least scary list I faced. Then took a pasting"
http://www.coolminiornot.com/artist/jigplums
http://www.coolminiornot.com/160095
jigplums is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-02-07, 04:41 PM
The Hebrew Hammer
 
The Son of Horus's Avatar
The Son of Horus's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 6,544
Reputation: 60
Default

Now that, I'm not too sure about. On pg. 52, where the rules for psychic powers are in the main rulebook, it says that they're subject to "the usual rules for shooting." Since the shooting ones are all assault weapons, I'd assume you could use it as you fell back. On pg. 48 where the Fall Back! rules are, it just says "Troops who are falling back may continue to shoot, but are obviously moving."

There's nothing that says that they can't use psychic powers while they fall back that I've found in the main rulebook. I'd assume you could do it.

IN THE US? ASK ME HOW TO GET 10% OFF GAMES WORKSHOP PRODUCTS!

My homebrew Space Marine Chapter: The Astartes Lions Rampant

The Son of Horus is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-02-07, 08:27 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lord Sinkoran's Avatar
Lord Sinkoran's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: University of Plymouth
Posts: 3,588
Default

my thinking is the psycher is to busy thinking "must run away" to be able to cast a power so I don't think they could but it doesn't say anything in the rule book.


Violence is never the answer, it is the question, to which the answer is, yes
Lord Sinkoran is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-03-07, 01:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Skcuzzlebumm's Avatar
Skcuzzlebumm's Flag is: Scotland
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Jorvik
Posts: 966
Reputation: 1
Default

Can't find anything in the book to say you can't provided it confers to the usual rules. i.e instead of shooting.

Remeber kids you can flee backwards, then fleet back towards the enemy!

Or DS and then fleet, and many more besides.

Field Marshall Lord Neil Alister Mackenzie Kerr the Marquess of Lothian
aka Team Scotland 40k Captain 2012
Skcuzzlebumm is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-03-07, 02:48 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default

I believe if someone really pushes this, they can use the power. The rule book backs them up. Even though common sense says they can't, I would say the rules back them up
sportman is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-03-07, 07:11 AM
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

The rules are clear. If you can shoot, you can use a psychic power that counts as shooting. Likewise, nothing about falling back or psychic powers sais even non-shooting powers can;t be used while falling back.

Read the rules for falling back, it;s a "Fighting retreat" it's not an "Oh god, I want my mommy!" running for the hills while peeing one's pants.

Consider it a strategic withdrawl. I see no reason that if an average guardsman can remain clam and composed enough to fire off controlled bursts to cover his retreat, the iron will of a librarian or psycher couldn't reap psychic vengance as he falls back to safer ground

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-03-07, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
jigplums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,602
Reputation: 5
Default

i think i was thinking of pinning.

Anyway skcuzz i think the nid faq or the gt faq covered the fleeting thing and said you have to fleet in th esame direction as you fled.

Check out my gamer Blog
http://gamergeekery.blogspot.co.uk/2...rs-in-40k.html

Jezlad "I actually commented that Jigplums list was the least scary list I faced. Then took a pasting"
http://www.coolminiornot.com/artist/jigplums
http://www.coolminiornot.com/160095
jigplums is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-04-07, 01:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Anphicar's Avatar
Anphicar's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA, VA
Posts: 2,688
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad
The rules are clear. If you can shoot, you can use a psychic power that counts as shooting. Likewise, nothing about falling back or psychic powers sais even non-shooting powers can;t be used while falling back.
Period.

As far as im concerned. :D

Anphicar is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-13-07, 05:32 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 801
Default

It really seems clear that it's perfectly sensible for the psyker to use his best weapon while falling back; after all, especially with, say, Space Marines, it's like advancing but backwards. These are Leadership tests, not Break tests. You're saying, "We need cover against that support unit, or we'll lose more men", or something of the like, rather than the drop weapons and run style.
uberschveinen is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome