Shooting a unit - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-08, 12:15 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 21
Default Shooting a unit

Hi there,

Finally yesterday evening I started playing 40K again.
I was doing a test game using AoBR.
I just wanted to know it it was possible to shoot a unit engaged in CC.
Some Boyz were engaged in CC with 4 SM and my friend wanted to shoot the SM with another boyz troop.
Can he do that?
We tried to find the rule on the book but we couldn't.
I am sure it's in there somewhere but no luck in finding it.
Also could that other boyz unit charge the SM?
Thanx a million for your help

Giacomo
styreotype is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-08, 12:27 PM
blahblahblahblah
 
Stella Cadente's Avatar
Stella Cadente's Flag is: Zaire
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: blahblahblahblah
Posts: 6,663
Reputation: 10
Default

in a 1 on 1 match you cannot usually shoot into combat (usually the only time it happens is via blast scattering), in 1 on 1 on 1 matches I believe the rulebook actually has something about that written, but I can't find it at the moment.

as for the charging, any number of units can engage in close combat, as long as theres room for at least 1 guy to get there in base to base contact with the enemy

Stella Cadente is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-08, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
bishop5's Avatar
bishop5's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 2
Default

Stella speaketh the truth; you cannot fire into a unit in close combat.

You can charge if you have at least one model able to reach base contact in the assault phase.

Tactica: Infantry Platoons
Quote:
Ask not what you can do for your country. Ask what's for lunch.
Orson Welles
Forum Rules
bishop5 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-08, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
DarthIbis's Avatar
DarthIbis's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 149
Reputation: 1
Default

The first answer you are looking for is on p15 under the header Disallowed Shooting. That tells you that you can't shoot into combat.

Multiple Combats are on p41 under the header of the same name. Everything is written out pretty well there, so hopefully that addresses your concerns on how to do it.

The part that Stella alluded to about Three-player combat is in the Campaign Section. There's a single paragraph about it on p273, but you still can't shoot at a combat containing your own unit. (Although I can see a house rule if you are playing an army sadistic enough to "sacrifice" their own. )

Hope that helps.
DarthIbis is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-08, 04:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 21
Default

That clears it up!
Thanx a million everyone
styreotype is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-08, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Underground Heretic's Avatar
Underground Heretic's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 1,267
Reputation: 1
Default

Also, for blast weapons, you cannot shoot, but you can scatter into a combat. I would resolve this as a blast hitting two units. Also, I have heard that barrage weapons, where you declare a range you are firing at not a unit, can declare a range that will hit a CC. On the Blast weapons, I'm sure about 70% on the barrage rules.

That which doesn't kill me has made a tactical mistake.

Rites of Battle Your source for 40k opinions, news, and hobby updates.
Underground Heretic is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-08, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
DarthIbis's Avatar
DarthIbis's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 149
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Underground Heretic View Post
Also, for blast weapons, you cannot shoot, but you can scatter into a combat. I would resolve this as a blast hitting two units.
While a blast may scatter into combat, you can't specifically target a unit that's currently engaged. If units in combat are hit, all units hit suffer the consequences of your "poor aim."
Quote:
Also, I have heard that barrage weapons, where you declare a range you are firing at not a unit, can declare a range that will hit a CC. On the Blast weapons, I'm sure about 70% on the barrage rules.
Since barrage weapons don't "guess" at a range anymore, the same rule would apply here as well. The G only means that you don't need LoS to the target, but you still follow the rules for blast weapons with the exceptions indicated on p32 for Barrage.
DarthIbis is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome