Necron Monolith fireing - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-08-08, 09:22 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 98
Default Necron Monolith fireing

I am new to the game and Necrons. In talking with a player at the local store I was informed that you could only use one of the Monolith's abilities per turn. I understand the artillery rule that You can't fire the whip and do anything else. One because you can only use one Matrix option either the portal or the whip. Also can't fire the reg guns because the Whip requires all the gunners to use it. But the main question is:

Can you fire the main guns (which aren't artillery Ordenance), and use the portal to teleport a necron unit?

Z
Ztrain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-08-08, 09:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Cato Sicarius's Avatar
Cato Sicarius's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,453
Reputation: 2
Default

Yes, as the Gauss Flux Arcs are not fuelled by the matrix. You can only use one matrix function per turn, so you can use the portal, but it doesn't say that it stops you from firing the Arcs.
Cato Sicarius is offline  
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-08-08, 09:30 PM
Senior Member
Alex's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wirral, England
Posts: 668
Default

You may fire the gauss guns and still use either the portal or whip.

Builder of the Lego Manta

40K Farsight Enclaves
WFB - Brettonians
Alex is offline  
 
post #4 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-08-08, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Lord_Murdock's Avatar
Lord_Murdock's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 733
Reputation: 10
Default

It can't fire the whip on the same turn if fires the flux arc, as the whip is ordnance, but yes it can still use the portal.
Lord_Murdock is offline  
post #5 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-08-08, 09:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Daneel2.0's Avatar
Daneel2.0's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,312
Reputation: 1
Default

Cato and Lord Murdock are correct.

Alex - because the Particle whip counts as an Ordinance shot you cannot use it and the flux arc in the same turn. The FAQ states this directly, and in no uncertain terms for a change, in the Monolith section if you need clarification.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesse View Post
[Necrons]shoot, shoot, teleport, shoot. win
Daneel2.0 is offline  
post #6 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-09-08, 09:34 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 98
Default

Thanks for the replies! I kinda figured I was right reading through the codex and manual but being new wanted to make sure I didn't miss something.

Thanks again!
Z
Ztrain is offline  
post #7 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-09-08, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Underground Heretic's Avatar
Underground Heretic's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 1,267
Reputation: 1
Default

Also, remember that since it is a matrix function and not a weapon the whip cannot be destroyed by a weapon destroyed result nor can it be stopped from firing by a shaken or stunned result.

That which doesn't kill me has made a tactical mistake.

Rites of Battle Your source for 40k opinions, news, and hobby updates.
Underground Heretic is offline  
post #8 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-09-08, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Underground Heretic View Post
Also, remember that since it is a matrix function and not a weapon the whip cannot be destroyed by a weapon destroyed result nor can it be stopped from firing by a shaken or stunned result.
That is one of the reasons why Monoliths can not be destroyed by non-AP1 glancing hits.
darklove is offline  
post #9 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-09-08, 08:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darklove View Post
That is one of the reasons why Monoliths can not be destroyed by non-AP1 glancing hits.
Also not being up to date on all the intricacies of the specific rules. Why is that?

Z
Ztrain is offline  
post #10 of 47 (permalink) Old 11-09-08, 08:35 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Hmmm, I probably have this wrong then. Can't a glancing hit immobolize a vehicle (roll of 4). If I immobolize a vehicle twice doesn't it become wrecked? Be gentle - still learning.
Chotic is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome