Witchfire and Flyers - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-23-17, 08:34 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DkMiBuch's Avatar
DkMiBuch's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 142
Reputation: 15
Default Witchfire and Flyers

Hi guys!

This question came up at a game I was playing the other day.

According to the FAQ from November '16, Witchfire powers which do not have a profile hit their target automatically.
Since it's completely legal to target flyers, I guess that means that they also hit them automatically?

That makes the Heretech powers Scarpcode Curse and Flayerstorm (and their loyalist counterparts) extremely powerful against flyers.

Have I missed anything?
DkMiBuch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-23-17, 10:24 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

You have missed, in the Flyer section under shooting at Flyers, that Flyers cannot be targeted by weapons/psychic powers that do not roll to-hit.

No such thing as auto-hitting a Flyer as far as I know.
ntaw is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-24-17, 07:00 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DkMiBuch's Avatar
DkMiBuch's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 142
Reputation: 15
Default

Yeah, that makes sense.

Knew it had to be too good to be true
DkMiBuch is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-24-17, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Flyers are bastards sometimes, that's for sure. With the wording as it is it wouldn't matter if an auto-hit weapon had Skyfire the fact that it's auto-hit precludes it from targeting the Flyer.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-02-17, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Shandathe's Avatar
Shandathe's Flag is: Netherlands
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,517
Reputation: 14
Default

You CAN auto-hit a Flyer, but it takes a Nova and most are very, very meh against vehicles.

Only Haywire auto-hit on a Flyer I remember right now is the 2nd Fulmination/Ectomancy power, it goes by Electropulse or Daemon Shriek depending on your loyalty. Mind you, you'll probably need a bit more than a single 9" Nova to actually take a Flyer down...

Ask not the Eldar a question, for they will give you three answers; all of which are true and horrifying to know.
Shandathe is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome