Question about Ectomancy/Fulmination - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-24-16, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DkMiBuch's Avatar
DkMiBuch's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 142
Reputation: 15
Default Question about Ectomancy/Fulmination

Hello guys,

The 5th power in the Ectomancy/Fulmination discipline (Ghost Storm/Magnetokinesis), with which you can move a friendly unit 18", reads:

".. all models in the unit count as having moved in the Movement phase for the purposes of shooting weapons in the Shooting phase"

What if the target unit was a vehicle? Would it then count as having moved combat speed or cruising speed?

I hope someone can help me clarify this.
Thanks!
DkMiBuch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-24-16, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,689
Reputation: 19
Default

I would assume, that it would be cruising.

That's just a guess, no rhyme or reason to choosing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-24-16, 11:30 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

I would say the same due to the assault restriction, passengers in assault vehicles that move at cruising speed can not disembark and assault.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-24-16, 11:32 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Since the power allows you to move up to 18", I'd say that it's relative to how far your vehicle moved still. 6" or less is counts as Combat Speed and 7" or more counts as Cruising Speed. In these weird situations I like to use as much of the rules as I can to sort it out and that's all we really have offered by the BRB.

Ultimately it's a vaguely written rule for vehicles with no RAW answer, so if you're gunning for it chat it up with your opponent pre-match to sort it out. If you can't sort it out roll off or play it one way in one game and the other in the next. See if it even makes a huge difference.

EDIT: just saw Sco's post, they can't disembark in the Psychic Phase only the Movement Phase so no worries there.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-24-16, 11:51 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

I was using it as an example of why I was thinking it counted as cruising. The cruising speed move makes it so you can not assault, so I am saying if it corresponds with the restriction of not assaulting in this power. ::shrugs:: Mainly just a ruling that my local group would likely run with, your area groups may choose a different route. Hooray GW vague writing strikes again!
Fallen likes this.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-24-16, 11:58 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scscofield View Post
Hooray GW vague writing strikes again!
Straight up. When I play new people I basically have a list of rules conundrums I bring up if I see certain elements at play while we go over each other's forces just so we're on the same page. For example, some people are absolutely shocked if I mention that blast templates hit everything under them in multi-level terrain elements where others insist that is how it's played. Good to air GW's dirty laundry pre-match so when it comes to gaming you can focus of rolling dice and having fun.
Fallen and DkMiBuch like this.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-25-16, 07:49 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DkMiBuch's Avatar
DkMiBuch's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 142
Reputation: 15
Default

If it ever gets faq'ed, I'm guessing it'll count as cruising speed.

I just really liked the idea of shooting 3 Vindicators up the board and firing their apocalyptic blast, which as I'm writing it, does sound a little OP

Last edited by DkMiBuch; 10-25-16 at 08:01 AM.
DkMiBuch is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-25-16, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,689
Reputation: 19
Default

Just do it with Fast vindicators.
ntaw likes this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-25-16, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

who would have thought, BA can do something better than SM.
Fallen likes this.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-25-16, 06:46 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DkMiBuch's Avatar
DkMiBuch's Flag is: Denmark
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 142
Reputation: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallen View Post
Just do it with Fast vindicators.
I play CSM, so unfortunately that's not a possibility
DkMiBuch is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome