Orky Questions - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-17-16, 05:58 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1
Default Orky Questions

So im pretty new to Orks and I have a few questions as I want to run a specific list:
1) If I am using the IA:8 Dreadmob army list. Can I take wargear from Codex Orks and Waaaggh Ghazkull? Specifically Da Finkin Kap and MFF
2) Meka Dreads use their Warlord trait to join a squad of Deff Dreads, if I run 2 Meka Dreads can both join squads or not?
3) For Buzzgobs Kustom Stompa. Which ruleset should I use?
4) Can I use the Great Waaagh or Green tide FoC with the Dreadmob army?

Many Thanks.
Ruka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-17-16, 09:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,689
Reputation: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruka View Post
So im pretty new to Orks and I have a few questions as I want to run a specific list:

1) If I am using the IA:8 Dreadmob army list. Can I take wargear from Codex Orks and Waaaggh Ghazkull? Specifically Da Finkin Kap and MFF

In general when using rules from across multiple books between GW proper (C:Orks, & Ghazkull) and ForgeWorld (IA:8) assume that things cannot be mixed - if you want to use the dread mob rule set, you must pay the points and items as described and allowed in IA8, and do so unless the book itself mentions to use the ork codex.

Also do note that IA8 is a rather old book now (I can't remember if they ever did a reprint of it) and is probably outdated for a lot of things.

So in short the answer is "No", however if you discuss with your friends and house rule it then you could - if you were planning on attending some sort of event then do not expect any such considerations.


2) Meka Dreads use their Warlord trait to join a squad of Deff Dreads, if I run 2 Meka Dreads can both join squads or not?

As I am not an ork player I would assume "no" without being able to read the rule - some times it states that it can or cannot with statements such as "a single ____ may be taken as a _____ instead".

3) For Buzzgobs Kustom Stompa. Which ruleset should I use?

If possible use the most recent ruleset provided, if there are multiple references to it, then either use the book that you are using to build a list from. Do note that whichever book *assuming its printed in Ghazgull & IA* you purchase from it uses that books rules - even if it is either more costly, or worse.

4) Can I use the Great Waaagh or Green tide FoC with the Dreadmob army?

I would so "no" once again, mostly because IA8 was written long ago where formations were only available in Apocalypse, so unless FW has produced a FAQ (didn't see anything on their website) addressing any such questions then my default answer is "use what is provided in the book - do not mix books" for all things used in your questions.

Many Thanks.
I tend to be pretty negative about allowing things to be mixed between FW & GW proper - as I generally think that FW stuff is more balanced than GW (at least at the time of writing of the books).

Alas I can only ask that you ask the people that you play with what THEY are comfortable with, as certain things may be differ from each player.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.

Last edited by Fallen; 07-17-16 at 09:28 PM.
Fallen is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-02-16, 11:36 PM
Spored to be Wild
 
morfangdakka's Avatar
morfangdakka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 4,376
Reputation: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruka View Post
So im pretty new to Orks and I have a few questions as I want to run a specific list:
1) If I am using the IA:8 Dreadmob army list. Can I take wargear from Codex Orks and Waaaggh Ghazkull? Specifically Da Finkin Kap and MFF
No you can only use the Forgeworld codex and the ork codex together. You won't be able to use the Ghazkull stuff.
2) Meka Dreads use their Warlord trait to join a squad of Deff Dreads, if I run 2 Meka Dreads can both join squads or not?
No, you can only have one warlord in the forgeworld dread mob because once you have the other HQ choice you lose the warlord trait to join the dread squad.
3) For Buzzgobs Kustom Stompa. Which ruleset should I use?
The most current rules are always the ones to use.
4) Can I use the Great Waaagh or Green tide FoC with the Dreadmob army?
If you have enough points to run two formations together than you can but you are going to have two week portions of an army. It is usually best to choose one and use that army.
Many Thanks.
I run the forgeworld dreadmob often so it is a fun army to run.


Red Orc
"Ahh, isn't Morfang sweet, like a great big 350-pound (that's 25 stone, UK users!) ball of cuddly death...?"


God, gives children to people so that death won't seem so disappointing.
morfangdakka is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome