Challenges and Piling In - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-04-16, 09:48 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gret79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,629
Reputation: 14
Default Challenges and Piling In

Quick question,

If a unit of 20 demonettes charges a lone dark reaper exarch and the demonettes are strung out over about 18" with the Alluress right at the back can a challenge be issued/taken or do the pile in rules stop that happening?

Thanks in advance
Gret79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-04-16, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Iraqiel's Avatar
Iraqiel's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Top End
Posts: 2,422
Reputation: 68
Default

Sorry you've been waiting so long mate.

To my understanding, two ways to play it:
Method 1: challenges are awesome, who cares what the rules say. Glory to Chaos!

Method 2: After a challenge is declared, each character makes a pile in move. If they can't get base to base (after adding charge distance) then the challenge does not occur, but can be declared again next round of combat after a further standard pile in by each character at initiative.

Iraqiel

Check out my Imperial Guard Battle-Group-in-the-making as it slowly takes form! Located just here:
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...my&army_id=705

And my collection of all things - particularly Grey Knights; Guard and Adeptus Mechanicus: https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=129966
Iraqiel is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-05-16, 08:25 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gret79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,629
Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iraqiel View Post
Sorry you've been waiting so long mate.

To my understanding, two ways to play it:
Method 1: challenges are awesome, who cares what the rules say. Glory to Chaos!

Method 2: After a challenge is declared, each character makes a pile in move. If they can't get base to base (after adding charge distance) then the challenge does not occur, but can be declared again next round of combat after a further standard pile in by each character at initiative.
Thank you
Gret79 is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-05-16, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Guys, guys. Page 102, Fighting a Challenge:

Quote:
If possible, swap the challenger for a friendly model in base contact with the challengee. If this cannot be done, swap the challengee for a friendly model in base contact with the challenger. If neither of these moves would result in the two models being in base contact, 'swap' the challenger as close as possible to the challengee and assume the two to be in base contact for the purposes of the ensuing fight.
What's unclear about this?

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-05-16, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Iraqiel's Avatar
Iraqiel's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Top End
Posts: 2,422
Reputation: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
What's unclear about this?
Oops my bad. Good pickup.

Iraqiel

Check out my Imperial Guard Battle-Group-in-the-making as it slowly takes form! Located just here:
https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...my&army_id=705

And my collection of all things - particularly Grey Knights; Guard and Adeptus Mechanicus: https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...d.php?t=129966
Iraqiel is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-06-16, 02:34 AM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Last edition, either the challenger or challengee (perhaps both?) had to be "engaged," at least, which is to say at least within 2" of a friendly model locked in base to base. This edition both issuing and accepting challenges is done by "a character in a unit locked in combat."

Then, like @ntaw points out, you just put them next to each other.

So, yes! The daisy-chain slingshot is a viable tactic! Especially if instead of an Alluress you have a Herald with the Greater Locus of Beguilement, so you can force them to accept the challenge (and choose who accepts it)! Hell, at that point, the "whole unit rerolls to hits" is just gravy, if you've managed to pull that trick off.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-06-16, 08:28 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gret79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,629
Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Guys, guys. Page 102, Fighting a Challenge:



What's unclear about this?
That's how we played it - but the guy I was playing was certain I was wrong so I thought I'd check to see if there was something I'd missed in the rules
Gret79 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-06-16, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Nah mate, you got it just fine.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-06-16, 02:26 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gret79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,629
Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Nah mate, you got it just fine.
Cheers, now I know for next time - when I'll probably use csm and this becomes more important due to having to challenge


Ultimately in this game, it made no difference I suppose

My Exarch caught crabs
Gret79 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome