Used interceptor, what can I shoot next? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-18-16, 07:24 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 268
Reputation: 3
Default Used interceptor, what can I shoot next?

Wondering if someone can iron this out for me please....

15 marines behind an Aegis and one of them manned the quad gun to intercept an enemy flyer.

On my next shooting turn I wanted to use the same 15 marines to shoot at an infantry target.

My opponent didn't think I could as you can't shoot at 2 different targets without split fire. I suggested this was a separate phase.

I thought you could as the interceptor rule only relates to the weapon and says they can shoot another weapon on their turn.

Any thoughts? Thanks, Jon.
Jonny B is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-18-16, 08:56 AM
Thordis
 
Haskanael's Avatar
Haskanael's Flag is: Netherlands
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,438
Reputation: 20
Default

Intercept is used at the start of the enemy turn while they deep strike right? considering it is an entirely different turn you can shoot normaly in your next shooting turn I would think.
Haskanael is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-19-16, 09:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Rush Darling's Avatar
Rush Darling's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 129
Reputation: 7
Default

Can't see anything that would stop you shooting the infantry target. The limitation on how many targets you can shoot specifically refers to phases, though witchfires (psychic phase) have an exception in that they can target as many things as they have powers to cast, and overwatch (assault phase) specifically states it can only be done once per phase.

As far as I'm aware the only attacks that happen in the movement phase are interceptors, vector strikes and bombs. All of the above count as a weapon being fired, which generally means they're an "early" attack rather than a "free" attack.

As none of my interceptor units (stalkers) have another weapon to fire, it's not a situation I've come across before, but it seems pretty ludicrous to imply it takes 15 blokes to man a quad gun.
Rush Darling is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome