Tau Piranha formation = loads of Drones? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-10-16, 04:49 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 369
Reputation: 22
Default Tau Piranha formation = loads of Drones?

Hi, got a query about the Tau Piranha formation:
The piranhas can come on and drop their drones in the movement phase, then the formation allows the piranha's to move off the table at the end of the move phase and then when they come back as reserves, they have all their drones back on again.
Could they keep doing this to just churn out drones?
Many thanks, andygorn.

Urgently trying to trace any living relatives of Private Sam/Samuel "Jock" Wilson (Black Watch, No. 6 Commando, UK Army Service ID 2764432, died 10.06.44). Any info/suggestions gratefully received.

"Mockles! Pent on silpen tree, blockards three a-feening. Mockles! What silps came to thee, in thy pantry, dreaming?"

Please check out the HOES (Heresy Online Stories) threads and vote for the tales.
More feedback = better stories for everyone.
andygorn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-10-16, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,689
Reputation: 19
Default

Without knowing what the written rules are...

I would assume that you cannot do that; or at the very least it could be kind of a douche-baggy thing to do. But this is without knowing what Rules As Written are.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-10-16, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 369
Reputation: 22
Default

yeah, I realise it's more "cheese" than a van-load of Gruyere, but wasn't thinking of using in regular games, but for any eejits who bring their tourney-smashing lists to a regular game.

Urgently trying to trace any living relatives of Private Sam/Samuel "Jock" Wilson (Black Watch, No. 6 Commando, UK Army Service ID 2764432, died 10.06.44). Any info/suggestions gratefully received.

"Mockles! Pent on silpen tree, blockards three a-feening. Mockles! What silps came to thee, in thy pantry, dreaming?"

Please check out the HOES (Heresy Online Stories) threads and vote for the tales.
More feedback = better stories for everyone.
andygorn is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-10-16, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

Honestly, it's not all that powerful. Each Piranha is worth 2 drones. You have to leave the board at the end of the movement phase, so you're not firing with the pirhanas, and then you're opening for the reserve roll to get back on the board....

If you just want to spam drones everywhere, go with Drone-Net XV1-0. better drones.

Xabre is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-10-16, 11:04 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

If a unit moves off the board they enter ongoing reserves and show up again the next turn. As to the drone dumping over an and over again, does the formation stat they get all their drones back when they come back onto the board?

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-11-16, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scscofield View Post
If a unit moves off the board they enter ongoing reserves and show up again the next turn. As to the drone dumping over an and over again, does the formation stat they get all their drones back when they come back onto the board?
It doesn't guarantee that they show up again the next turn. They simply enter ongoing reserves, which means you have to roll for them to come back onto the board.

And yes, the rules say any damage is repaired, and any seekers and drones are replaced.

RAW, it does not say that the drones have to be off the table killed or anything like that.

Rearm and Refuel:If all of the surviving models from a unit in this Formation are within 6" of a table edge at the end of their Movement phase, the unit can enter Ongoing Reserves. When it returns to play, it does so at full strength with any damage repaired and Drones and seeker missiles replaced

Xabre is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-11-16, 09:29 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Pg 136
If a unit enters Reserves part way through the game, such as a Flyer leaving the battlefield, this is referred to as entering Ongoing Reserves. Units in Ongoing Reserve always re-enter play at the start of their controlling player's following turn, but otherwise follow the normal rules for Reserves.


Looks to me like floodable drones from what I have seen in this thread so far.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-11-16, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

Fair enough.

I guess the real question becomes... why?

Like I said, I'd probably much rather actually run them from the start. You pay 40 points for 24 points worth of gun drones, and yes, by turn 2 you'd have 48 points worth... but it's just gun drones, it's still only BS2, and it's still only carbines for 18" shots. I'd rather just run Drone Net, get BS3 drones with access to skyfire and interceptor and stuff like that, have a huge mess of them on the board to start with, and not worry about them being anchored to the edge of the board.

Xabre is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-11-16, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Rush Darling's Avatar
Rush Darling's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 129
Reputation: 7
Default

Is this combined with some kind of outflank, or is it just the controlling players board edge we're talking about?

Hell, does outflank even apply to ongoing reserves? Not a rules situation I've looked into yet.

My only experience with anything similar is the Tyranid's endless tide formation. (Unit gets destroyed, on 4+ gets placed back into ongoing reserves). It reads as incredibly powerful, and undoubtedly would be in a game of unlimited turns, but as it stands, in my opinion it's simply....not bad. I tend to find obsec to be more important than units turning up on my own board edge late in the game. (Though I've yet to combine it with any Trygon tunnelling shenanigans.)
Rush Darling is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-11-16, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush Darling View Post
Hell, does outflank even apply to ongoing reserves? Not a rules situation I've looked into yet.
No. Outflank stipulates 'arrives from Reserves, but not arrives from Ongoing Reserve'.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome