marks of gods and psychic focus - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 12:56 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Woodzee316's Avatar
Woodzee316's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 564
Reputation: 4
Default marks of gods and psychic focus

reading the rules it says if a psyker takes his spells from one school he has the psychic focus so gets the primaris free. with chaos marines that are marked they don't get psychic focus but automatically gain the primaris.

So my question is with my Thousand Sons Aspiring Sorcerer he has to take a spell from the Tzeentch table, but because he already knows the primaris (so a spell from tzeentch), so with his lvl1 can he then take the a spell from daemonology ( as all psykers also get the daemonology table as well)?

just curious of other peoples interpretation.

Orkz - 30W 14L
Black Templar - 6W 5L
Thousand Sons - 7W 8L
Tzeentch Daemons -4W 4L
Woodzee316 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 03:58 AM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

The ITC faq (unofficial faq adopted by most tournaments, these days) rules that a psyker can only get one primaris free; that having powers from 2 schools (even if one is the forced primaris) means you aren't eligible for a second free primaris.

It is a gray area in the wording though, definitely! It comes down to consensus and how your local group does it, honestly, I think. Until the ITC faq ruled it out, I definitely played my daemons that way--just made sure to check in with my opponent to make sure they were ok with it before my matches, so when my ML1 Horrors suddenly had 3 psychic powers...

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Rush Darling's Avatar
Rush Darling's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 129
Reputation: 7
Default

Can definitely see the logic loop.

1) Psyker takes one power from daemonology.

2) Psyker has psychic focus - gains daemonology primaris.

3) Psyker has chaos psychic focus - gains Tzeentch primaris.

Two conflicting rules here, so wording is important:

4 A) If during the course of the game, that Psyker gains a psychic power from a different psychic discipline, he immediately loses Psychic Focus and the associated primaris power.

4 B) If a psyker has a mark of chaos or is a daemon of a particular chaos god, that model automatically knows the primaris power of the discipline that corresponds to their patron deity, in addition to any other powers it knows.

So I suppose the real question is whether "in addition to any other powers it knows" constitutes an exception to 4 A. Given the way it's worded as "during the course of the game" personally I'd argue that this rule was intended to apply to units that can generate powers mid-game (not that I have an example of such a unit, but maybe it was something they intended).

It's also very important to note that it specifically states under generating psychic powers:

Psykers generate their psychic powers before the game begins

Ergo any rule that stipulates "during the course of the game" does not apply as powers are generated before the game even starts.

Seems fairly clear cut to me, though pretty tricky to find all the details. Thoughts?

EDIT: Summary : Enjoy your three psychic powers.
Rush Darling is offline  
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

So, the reason for Chaos Focus is actually because of Level 2+ Marked Chaos Psykers. Let me explain.

The Aspiring Sorcerer that comes with Rubric Space Marines is a Level 1, and he has the Mark of Tzeentch.

Based on the rules in the CSM codex, he MUST generate 1, and up to half from his god. There is no loophole here, if flat out says MUST ROLL AT LEAST ONE (page 70). It doesn't say 'must have'. It says must roll.

if you're rolling, you gain your Primaris. If you're rolling on Tzeentch, you gain's Tzeentch's Primaris. If you're level 1, then it's a non-issue; you gain your Primaris the same way a level 1 Loyalist would gain their Primaris.

When you're level 2, things get complicated. You MUST ROLL one power, but you CAN'T roll two powers, because it says 'may roll up to half'. This disqualifies you from maxing out and getting the Primaris. That's why Chaos Focus exists; so you always have the Primaris from the Mark table as a consolation prize.

TL:DR - No.


Addendum: I'm not speaking about Chaos Demons. I don't know how they work, honestly. I'm fairly certain, however, that the Chaos Focus only applies to MARK of chaos, so Demons don't qualify to get bonus powers (such as Horrors taking Daemonology and also getting the Tzeentch Primaris).

Addendum2: Just looked up the rule again. Yes, it looks like Horrors could get away with it. Demons can skip rolling on the god's powers, but Chaos Psychic Focus still gives it to them. THAT is the loophole, since it's meant to be one Psychic Focus or the other.


Last edited by Xabre; 03-19-16 at 01:21 PM.
Xabre is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

I know it's been said at this point, but the CSM book is pretty clear on this to my eyes.

Quote:
If the Psyker has a Mark of Chaos, or is a Daemon of a
particular Chaos God, 1they must roll at least one, 2and may
roll up to half
, of their powers on the table that corresponds
to their patron deity.
1. if the psyker is ML1 and has the mark of a specific god, they must roll their one power on the corresponding psychic table (which of course gives them psychic focus since they generated all their powers from one table)

2. if the psyker is ML2+ and has the mark of a specific god, they can only generate half of their powers (I assume rounding up because that's the way of this game in a lot of other instances) from that specific table.

I can find no mention of this 'Chaos Focus' you guys bring up in the CSM 'dex. Based on what I read in the Codex, the only way a Chaos psyker can get psychic focus on a table is if they are ML1. What's all this about 'Chaos Focus'? Even in the Daemon book I can't find this sentence anywhere:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush Darling View Post
If a psyker has a mark of chaos or is a daemon of a particular chaos god, that model automatically knows the primaris power of the discipline that corresponds to their patron deity, in addition to any other powers it knows.
Where's it at??

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post

I can find no mention of this 'Chaos Focus' you guys bring up in the CSM 'dex. Based on what I read in the Codex, the only way a Chaos psyker can get psychic focus on a table is if they are ML1. What's all this about 'Chaos Focus'? Even in the Daemon book I can't find this sentence anywhere:

Where's it at??
It's in the BRB actually, on the same page as the Psychic Focus rule.

RAI, it'd be one or the other. However, shoddy writing has left it that demons get to doubledip.

Xabre is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
It's in the BRB actually, on the same page as the Psychic Focus rule.
Perfect! I was wondering, since I knew I had even read it before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
When you're level 2, things get complicated. You MUST ROLL one power, but you CAN'T roll two powers, because it says 'may roll up to half'. This disqualifies you from maxing out and getting the Primaris. That's why Chaos Focus exists; so you always have the Primaris from the Mark table as a consolation prize.
This is right on the money, it's totally a consolation prize for not being able to gain Psychic Focus normally.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
Just looked up the rule again. Yes, it looks like Horrors could get away with it. Demons can skip rolling on the god's powers, but Chaos Psychic Focus still gives it to them. THAT is the loophole, since it's meant to be one Psychic Focus or the other.
Pink Horrors generate their powers from the Change table only, and as such would get normal Psychic Focus without needing Chaos Psychic Focus. How do they get to skip rolling or gain powers from another discipline?

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
Pink Horrors generate their powers from the Change table only, and as such would get normal Psychic Focus without needing Chaos Psychic Focus. How do they get to skip rolling or gain powers from another discipline?

It's in the most recent (and I use that term loosely) GW errata for Demons: Any psyker or Brotherhood of Psyker model in the codex can take Daemonology on top of their usual powers.

As INTENDED, Horrors could take Daemonology and get the free Primaris.

As WRITTEN, they take Daemonology, get the free Primaris, and get the Change Primaris.

Xabre is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 07:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Rush Darling's Avatar
Rush Darling's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 129
Reputation: 7
Default

Huh, I was just going off the BRB. Thanks for the break down Xabre, that's a very bizarre loophole. I've not come across it enough to have a good handle on an RAI perspective, but I just called it as I saw it.

Is it really that much of a problem? Unless I'm mistaken (and at the risk of starting a whole other discussion) psykers can only cast a number of powers equal to their mastery level.

The increased versatility must be nice, but given the issues I have getting multiple psykers to cast even a single power each reliably, it doesn't sound all that broken to me, certainly not in the grand scheme of things.

Might just be my ignorance of chaos psychic powers.
Rush Darling is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 07:43 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
As INTENDED, Horrors could take Daemonology and get the free Primaris.

As WRITTEN, they take Daemonology, get the free Primaris, and get the Change Primaris.
Checked and double checked and I fully agree. Not that I play Daemons/Chaos, but I face them a lot so this is pertinent info for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush Darling View Post
Unless I'm mistaken (and at the risk of starting a whole other discussion) psykers can only cast a number of powers equal to their mastery level.
You are mistaken. While this may have been the case in previous editions I'm still trying to forget, it is not the case in 7th edition.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush Darling View Post
iven the issues I have getting multiple psykers to cast even a single power each reliably, it doesn't sound all that broken to me
I've faced Daemon lists with 15+ masterly level points. They do what they want in the psychic phase

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome