marks of gods and psychic focus - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush Darling View Post

Is it really that much of a problem? Unless I'm mistaken (and at the risk of starting a whole other discussion) psykers can only cast a number of powers equal to their mastery level.
Additional shoddy rules-writing.

The exact quote from the rules is: The number of powers they can cast is dependent on their level. HOWEVER, it never clearly states HOW it's dependent.

General consensus is that since level dictates how many powers they can learn, then that's how many they can cast.

There is another line further in the psychic rules that basically say 'keep casting till you run dry of dice'.

(Can you tell I've had this discussion recently?)

Xabre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 09:38 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
The exact quote from the rules is: The number of powers they can cast is dependent on their level. HOWEVER, it never clearly states HOW it's dependent.
Well, given that a unit can only attempt to cast each power it knows once, it's limited in the number it can cast by how many it knows, I suppose.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 09:42 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
The number of powers they can cast is dependent on their level.
tell that to Librarius Conclaves.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xabre View Post
There is another line further in the psychic rules that basically say 'keep casting till you run dry of dice'.
This one is the key.

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
 
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 10:47 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Woodzee316's Avatar
Woodzee316's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 564
Reputation: 4
Default

I don't have my BRB with me so paraphrasing from memory back in the rules when it talks of psychic focus it also says marked psykers can never gain psychic focus however they gain the primaris power from their mark for free.

So I suppose in this situation the aspiring sorcerer gets to roll on the table and then gets the primaris for free. otherwise they would be just stuck with the primaris because they know have two spells from tzeentch although they are only ML1.

Orkz - 30W 14L
Black Templar - 6W 5L
Thousand Sons - 7W 8L
Tzeentch Daemons -4W 4L
Woodzee316 is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-19-16, 11:59 PM
Senior Member
alt-f4's Flag is: Belgium
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Mons (Belgium)
Posts: 117
Reputation: 1
Default

So, a Keeper of Secrets rolling up all its powers from the Telepathy list gains the Telepathy free Primaris, then the Slaanesh free Primaris due to the Chaos Focus rule ?

The Serrated Flame : a First Heretics army

- Primordial Truth is Humanity's only salvation -
alt-f4 is offline  
post #16 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-20-16, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Xabre's Avatar
Xabre's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,848
Reputation: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alt-f4 View Post
So, a Keeper of Secrets rolling up all its powers from the Telepathy list gains the Telepathy free Primaris, then the Slaanesh free Primaris due to the Chaos Focus rule ?
Due to the poor wording in the BRB, yes. But it ONLY works with Demons of Chaos, and not anyone else.

Xabre is offline  
post #17 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-20-16, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Rush Darling's Avatar
Rush Darling's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 129
Reputation: 7
Default

Learning all the things today!

I'll have another read through the psychic phase when I get back to my cave, just to get in straight in my head. More questions may follow xD

Much appreciated though, thanks guys.
Rush Darling is offline  
post #18 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-21-16, 10:47 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Woodzee316's Avatar
Woodzee316's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 564
Reputation: 4
Default

ok a new development has just been brought to my attention by our local tournament organiser. Our official tournaments in Australia are run to the ANZ40kFAQ.
under psychic rules FAQ it states

4. A psyker with a mark of Chaos or a Daemon of a particular Chaos god can never make use of Psychic focus, but Chaos psychic focus always applies.

So under this FAQ ruling I can't actually take my one spell from another discipline and grab the freebie primaris. Which I would believe to be RAI.

There we go.

Orkz - 30W 14L
Black Templar - 6W 5L
Thousand Sons - 7W 8L
Tzeentch Daemons -4W 4L
Woodzee316 is offline  
post #19 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-22-16, 01:24 AM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eš
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

Yup, sounds like what I was talking about with the ITC faq--depends on local standards. Good that you figured this out before whatever local events you were planning on attending!

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome